We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My 2nd stay in the Meininger hotel, with a party of four Indonesian friends. I had chosen this hotel based upon my earlier experiences and was not disappointed. The hotel has a 'hostel' atmosphere, there are 4 and even 6 bed rooms, but also the normal 2 persons. Rooms are not big, but clean, the bathroom is clean and has a good shower. Beds are comfortable.
Although the hotel is next to the station Sloterdijk there is no noise in the rooms.
Staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. Use of the parking garage is € 10 per day, which is what you spent in Amsterdam in 1 hour.
Transport to Schiphol Airport as well as Amsterdam Central about every ten minutes, or take the bus 48 to Central.
Breakfast is simple, but ample, is constantly replenished.
There is also a small kitchen, with washing machine and dryer.
All in all, no regrets in staying there again!

Room Tip: No good or bad rooms, all are more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    288
    75
    23
    21
See reviews for
155
69
59
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a weekend away with a few of my friends for 2 nights. We had a roo. For 4 which included a double bed and bunk bed. The room was very clean and surprisingly modern. I say surprisingly because we paid such a good price(only £20 a night). The beds were comfy and ideal for what we needed. The hotel itself has all what you want for a weekend away. There's a bar and a kitchen and a very handy vending machine to help with those ever impending munchies.

The location is about as good as it can get if your not in the centre. It's about 2 minutes away from sloterdyke (don't think that's how you spell it) which is only a 5 minute ride to Amsterdam Central. The airport is really easy to get to as well.
Definitely somewhere I would recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam and I would no doubt stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

First I'd like to say we loved this hotel and it's just next to sloterdijk station which can take you anywhere in holland the rooms was very clean but tiny was feeling more like teenagets rooms and by the way the hotel was full of teenagers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wythall UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice room was lovely and the breakfast was plentiful and good. As other reviews say it is out of the city but it's only one stop away which never bothered us at all. The rail network is excellent safe, frequent and easy so no hassle at all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just outside of the city centre. It is literally right next to Sloterdijk station (which is only about 2 stops from the airport) and it has a bus stop just outside with the number 48 bus taking you to the city centre in about 10 minutes. The hotel has a bit of a hostel feel about it but is very much a hotel. It was very very clean with comfy pillows and a power shower. We had a room of 4 which was 2 single beds and a bunk bed at the front of the hotel. It wasn't very nicely decorated and you can hear a lot of noice but it was fine and comfy. The staff were all very helpful and nice. The breakfast you have to pay for and is not very interesting, i would reccomend skipping it and just eating in the city. There's wifi all over the hotel along with bike hire.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelvetro di Modena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room I chose was anything but small. The breakfast was very good. You know what made this hotel even more "recommended" to me? Its position. Yes, this hotel is located near the Sloterdijk station, and that was really facilitating every time I came back from Amsterdam center. Definitevely recommended.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I booked in after reading a review on a peer hotel booking website. Great location near to the Sloterdijk station. Modern, clean well appointed hotel. Booked a single room which was tiny but exactly what I needed. My new hotel of choice in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.