We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just outside of the city centre. It is literally right next to Sloterdijk station (which is only about 2 stops from the airport) and it has a bus stop just outside with the number 48 bus taking you to the city centre in about 10 minutes. The hotel has a bit of a hostel feel about it but is very much a hotel. It was very very clean with comfy pillows and a power shower. We had a room of 4 which was 2 single beds and a bunk bed at the front of the hotel. It wasn't very nicely decorated and you can hear a lot of noice but it was fine and comfy. The staff were all very helpful and nice. The breakfast you have to pay for and is not very interesting, i would reccomend skipping it and just eating in the city. There's wifi all over the hotel along with bike hire.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    259
    64
    21
    17
See reviews for
139
62
48
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room I chose was anything but small. The breakfast was very good. You know what made this hotel even more "recommended" to me? Its position. Yes, this hotel is located near the Sloterdijk station, and that was really facilitating every time I came back from Amsterdam center. Definitevely recommended.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I booked in after reading a review on a peer hotel booking website. Great location near to the Sloterdijk station. Modern, clean well appointed hotel. Booked a single room which was tiny but exactly what I needed. My new hotel of choice in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I booked a single room for 2 nights. The room was very small as well as its single bed.

Pros: 1) Sloterdijk Station with Sprinter train and metro, tram and bus stops are just next door. 2) There are Starbucks, kiosks and few cafes in the station itself but will close by 8pm. 3) Free tours and information are available. 4) Free wifi, and there are guest kitchen and hotel bar

Cons: 1) For those who are carrying huge luggage arriving at Sloterdijk station , have to use the lift at the Piarcoplein and go round from the back of the MEININGER building. The direction given to use Orlyplein exit at Sloterdijk Station has no lift or elevator, only stairs! 2) Room and its en-suite bathroom are very small. 3) Travel to Amsterdam Centraal will only take 5 minutes if we buy Sprinter train ticket. If we use GVB card, we can only take metro, tram or bus to Centraal, it will take at least 35-40 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have spent three night in this hotel with my family that include four three children. It has a unique style of rooms and facilities. Kids liked the double dick beds. It is a busy hotel you will see all kind of people. Location for traveller by car is an excellent, I parked my car in the safe train station behind the hotel for 8 euro a day with free train tickets for the entire family, it is a Burgin!!!. Breakfast was cheep and of good quality, highly recommend that. Receptionists are friendly and very helpful. Price is very cheep for family and in a capital city such Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Six beds room is excellent, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The cost of accommodation in the centre of Amsterdam put us off going for some time so when i saw 3 night for about £400 (I've added the cost of breakfast) for 4 of us i wasn't expecting the Crowne Plaza. However, the room was clean, comfy and warm, if a little cosy, the location was ace - less than 15 minutes door to room from Yu's Family Kitchen in the centre of town, via Central Station, the food was still too hot to eat - and we didn't experience any of the noise/disturbance that a busy hotel can attract.
Checking in/out was simple, although the SatNav tried to take me down a road that may have existed prior to the hotel being built, you can buy your travel passes and city passes on site and yes, the free Wi-Fi kept the kids quiet.
The only downer was trying to get breakfast at 09:30 on the first morning. The breakfast room was heaving, but we did manage it. The following two mornings we ate at about 8 and had no issues whatsoever.
The number 12 tram will take you to the museums, although not in to the centre of the city, and the 48 bus takes about 20 minutes to the middle of town. 2.10 Euros each way for the train (every 5 minutes or so, journey time about 5 minutes too) isn't too bad if time is precious.
If you are on a budget, or simply don't want to stay in the city itself, then you should seriously consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Extremely disappointing service!!!

I work in a travel agency and phoned the reservations dpt to ask for room rates for a client.
Was given a room rate, requested to reserve a room one day later and was given a higher rate.

I then requested them to confirm if the cheaper rate I received the day before was still valid and they said yes.

Right after I sent them my request to proceed with the booking and the next morning I get a different rate again! And a comment that the "rate has changed over the night".
They did not even bother to excuse themselves or answer my question on WHY it changed, when I had sent them a booking request exactly after they confirmed the original rate.

Unprofessional behavior, unacceptable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.