We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to explore Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to explore Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

That's the place for you if you have a car with you. Don't even try to park the car in Amsterdam or find a hotel with a car parking for reasonable price. The hotel is new. Big rooms and bathrooms, very reach brekfast. Full of young people. Easy access to city center by train (5m) or merto/bus (15m). Nice restuarant opposit to HolidayInn Express close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    260
    64
    21
    17
See reviews for
140
62
48
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Being right next to the metro/tram/intercity station means this hotel is 5 mins from Amsterdam Centraal, 10 mins from Schiphol and convenient for all the city tourist attractions by tram. It's certainly not in the city centre, but with Amsterdam's excellent public transport network, it might as well be. They'll even rent you a bike if you want to get around under your own steam.

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly, my single room was certainly very small but it had everything I needed. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning and free wifi worked just fine. Even though the train station was right outside my window, I wasn't disturbed by the noise. There was a good range of food for breakfast in the bright, clean, canteen-style, self-clear restaurant. I really liked this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean, modern, very close to the train station, helpful staff and delicious breakfast !! If you are going to Amsterdam with your family, friends or solo, I highly recommend staying at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam City West!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was very modern and clean with friendly staff. We had a 6 bed room that was very big with lots of room for 5 girls to get ready. We all found the beds and pillows very comfy. We didn't try breakfast (only because we wanted to sleep late) but it was reasonably priced.

10 minute train ride from centre of Amsterdam but with regular night buses (every 20mins) it's ok to miss the last train. I would recommend buying the all day bus/tram ticket.

Great time in Amsterdam but some very sleazy men about at night which is unfortunate for a group of girls. We dressed in heels and dresses for a night out but we were over-dressed (even in the club Escape girls were wearing jeans and converse) and got a lot of stares, and also the heels aren't practical for the cobbled streets.

Room Tip: If you're in a large group the 6-bed private rooms had plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was definitely more like a hotel. The whole place is decorated and furnished in a modern European style. The rooms were small, but made efficient use of the space. We were three people but we're given a four person room - a bunk bed and two singles.

There are power points and lamps by each bed, so everybody could charge their own devices - I've definitely been in places where there were only one or two available plugs in a four bed
room.

Each room has a TV and there were BBC channels. We had an en-suite bathroom which was very big and clean.

We didn't use the communal kitchen so we can't comment on that, but the place was quite big and most of the time it seemed busy downstairs. At one time we found it difficult to get to the desk to talk to staff because they were just swamped.

The location was alright - it's only a ten minute train to Amsterdam Centraal from the station around the corner, just bear in mind this is going to cost you somewhere in the region of €5 per day extra if you only come back to the hostel to sleep.

We got a pretty good deal on the room, I think somewhere in the region of £25pppn. So great value for money.

In all it was a pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hostel is very well located (right next to one of the train stations, not central,) and the staff were very helpful as an overall impression of the Meininger Chain it was very good but I assume that you expect that from a large company such as them.
They did make one problem which you might want to look out for.
My name (Benedict) is a girls name in Amsterdam and we had booked a mixed room. to fit us in they put me and my friends into a female dorm. they did this without checking that I was a girl or that the other two members of my group were female either. This was rectified but they split us up instead of being in the same room as was intended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Amsterdam was packed in mid-August when we visited and so a reasonably priced room with bedding for 4 was impossible to find in town. Meininger was easily reached by subway or train and was thankfully, away from the hordes of people everywhere we went in Amsterdam. A new facility, the hotel has an upbeat vibe and attracted lots of young travelers and families with children/teens.The common areas were well thought out and multi-purposed. The pool table in the evenings was covered in the morning and became a main serving station for breakfast! It was a very comfortable hotel, so we did not mind the commute into/out of Amsterdam (only a few minutes by train but about 20-30 minutes by tram/subway due to a transfer). Our room for 4 was tiny though. It was 2 twins together like a queen-sized bed and a bunk bed with a closet/cubby combination in the hall. There was one low stool that served as a night stand (lamps were on the walls) and a small table but no chairs and really nowhere, except under the bed to put our luggage. With four people (one staying in Europe for a semester abroad), we had 5 suitcases and this made a constant juggling act when we needed to get ready for bed or dressed in the morning. Only one person could move around in the room itself at a time The bathroom was nice, with a separate toilet room and shower room, separated by a sink area. Additional shelving would have been nice, but the facilities were quite nice. Nevertheless, Meininger served our needs and made a visit to the expensive city of Amsterdam much more affordable. (We also felt the breakfast, at 5.90 euros each was a good value, as they provided a substantial selection of tasty options.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.