We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget stay, if a little far out from the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great budget stay, if a little far out from the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Meninger concept is a good one: set up hostels that are also budget hotels and therefore can cater to both the young traveller and family market. I had seen the London branch of the hotel and thought it wold make an excellent base for our short stay in Amsterdam.

I was right. The hotel was clean, modern and very good value (£84 for 4 people in one room). The room was large and well appointed with a good selection of TV channels in english, decent free wifi and a great "distributed" bathroom.

The hotel is not in the centre of Amsterdam but is a very short train ride - or a pretty long tram ride - away from the action. Take the train if you can. Amsterdam Centraal is just one stop (or ten mins) from Sluiterdijk station where this hotel is located.

Staff were helpful and friendly and you can also use the kitchen to cook and wash clothes if you need to.

Would stay again and ideal for families on a budget

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    316
    82
    25
    23
See reviews for
167
75
64
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

A group of 4 of us stayed at Meininger for 3 days and thought it was great. We really were surprised with how new and clean it was. The hostel was in a good location close to the metro and was away from a lot of the tourist areas but was only one stop away from the main area. I had my laptop stolen while staying in a 8 bedroom dorm and the staff were very helpful in getting me information for the police and gave me breakfast to say sorry. Would definitely stay here next time I come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel/hostel is located next to a transportation station which makes it easy to get to and from the city center. With it being in a business district it also makes it very quiet. The staff were friendly and willing to help with questions we had. There seemed to be an large age range with guests from young backpackers to traveling families with kids and grandparents in tow. With a large eating/common area it was a great place to meet people
The hostel sold local attraction and bus tickets at a discount price which is always a nice bonus. The luggage rooms were secure and free of charge which helped as well.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and spacious enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very clean hotel with great service and friendly staff. The breakfast in the morning is very good, in a large and well equipped room. Very close to the train station with a perfect traffic in all directions, makes easy to go around different areas for your visits or trip plans. A lot of young people use this hotel, adding a flavor to a vibrant environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

When arriving at the hotel there was a change of personnel. We had to wait more than 15 minutes before we could check in. When we got to our room it was a mess. We went down to the reception and they said it would take 15 minutes to get it ready. After a couple of additional visits to the reception we finally got the room about 1 hour after check in. The room cleaning was notably cleaned in a hurry. We got free breakfast for the troubles. Breakfast in a crowded and chaos area. Surroundings is a business/office area, which I should have made some research before to not be let down, but very convenient public transportation just out side. Also only €20 for taxi to the center of Amsterdam. In summary, we had bad luck but I was not impressed by how it was handled.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel/hostel. Our room was on a corner of the building and looked out towards office buildings. During the day it was a problem because there were no curtains or blinds in the bathroom and people in the offices could see into our toilet and shower area. However, we were out for most of the day and if you're worried just ask for a room that's not on a corner - the other rooms don't have this problem. The staff were very helpful and even let us check in at 7am in the morning when we arrived after a long flight. The best thing about the hotel is that it's out of town so it's lovely and quiet but its next door to a train, metro and bus depot and only one stop from Amsterdam Centraal. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Not a corner room - its probably more spacious but not very private! Ask for a non-smoking room if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you are looking for below in your search for accomodation
1) Budget rock bottom price
2) Clean sheets
3) Sparkling rooms and bathrooms
4) Guest kitchen
5) Engaging activities for small kids
6) Lively and comfortable lounge
7) Walking distance from public transport
8) LIFT/Elevators
9) Nice breakfst buffet
10) 24hrs open cafeteria
11) Free washing machine and dryer
12) 5 mins to city center but away from noise

It exceeded my expectation. I never thought in such less money, I will get all of it. I traveled with 4 children and 3 adults. It has everything you can think of. In the guest kitchen, they had small baby kitchen set, which kept my kids and lot of other kids engaged while i prepared meals etc. Big lounge is very lively with different table games kept on every table and a nice little play area too. Rooms are very very clean. How are they keeping it so clean with so less money. It is just out side station so no need for taxi or bus even if u have lots of luggage like us. Central stn is 5mins and trains r there even in very late night.

Room Tip: All the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.