We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, shame about location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel, shame about location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Myself and 3 other 18-year-old friends went to Amsterdam in August 2012 and after searching all over, we picked Meininger for our hotel - mainly because it was so cheap, costing like 65 Euros for 5 days! We had seen some pictures on the net but were slightly skeptical as this hotel was 'brand new' and these pictures were from another Meininger hotel elsewhere.
However, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived realising how good our hotel actually was, especially considering the 3* rating. The rooms are modern and comfortable - they looked much better than your own bedrooms! In addition, there were only four of us staying yet when we opened our door we noticed 2 bunk beds and a double bed so needless to say we stayed in different beds as we pleased. It was also convenient having light switches next to the beds and mini lights for those in the bunk beds. The power shower was awesome and the room was quite spacious that it was placed in. The wash basin and toilet were also very nice having separate areas for all shower, toilet and sink.
The service was great. The staff were always kind and very welcoming, having a good laugh with us day after day, and mocking us for our drunken antics too. The hotel manager once closed off the bar for a private event but once everyone cleared out we asked the manager if we could play pool...first he refused but then moments later shouted us back and let us play pool quietly, then offering us a drink courtesy of the hotel which we thought was a nice incentive.
When we arrived too, I had all of my mates' money for the hotel on my card but silly me forgot to account for the added cost of using my card abroad and resultantly my card had 'insufficient funds'. I panicked but the woman at the reception was very understanding and said we didn't have to pay it right away, even adding we could pay when we left - not a smooth plan with my mates. Luckily, I had an emergency credit card with me which I later used.
Drinks at the bar were at first expensive costing roughly 4 Euros per bottle/pint but after visiting the 'Dam we realised that was actually quite cheap so we always pre-drank in the bar first or with Absinthe we purchased (about 35 euros for a 70 cl bottle).
The only down side I really had with the hotel was the location. We were all interested in getting hammered/high as kites but the location sometimes was a hindrance. Sure it's right near the station - which has a shop called 'The Donner Company, serving the BEST donner ever - but it took like 10 minutes on the train and if you're up for partying you'd have to leave for the train pretty early with the last trains being around 1ish in the morning, leaving us carrying on the night in the hotel's bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    279
    67
    23
    18
See reviews for
152
66
52
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Sound staff. 24 hr bar. Right beside train station. Decent price. Nice facilities. Great atmosphere.

Only downside was the parking. The receptionist told us to use the train station car park when we could've used the public pay parking which worked out cheaper!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here in mid December and it was worth every penny. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Sloterijk train station. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The entire building is modern and clean and the shower pressure is terrific. There is also unlimited wi-fi. You just have to go to the front desk for the new password every 24hrs. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent cost-benefit relation. Great internet connection, delicious and quality breakfast. Very clean, safe and one block away from the train station. One station away from downtown. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

It was such a great experience staying there! My friends and I had such a great time there and didn't want to leave.

It's not in Central Amsterdam itself but it is very accessible by train or bus. It is right next to the Amsterdam Sloterdijk station. I took the 48 bus from the station nearby and for 6 euros you can have a whole day pass for the tram, buses and metros. (you can buy this from the reception of the hotel)

There were 12 of us so we split ourselves into 2 rooms of 6. The room was very spacious and we all had our own little lockers (that couldn't really lock). There were 2 bunk beds and a double bed and for the bunk beds, there was a socket and little light nearby. The shower area and the toilet were separated so it made getting ready in the morning so much easier. The sink and the mirror were in the room itself.

For 5.90 euros you can opt to have their buffet breakfast which I felt was really worth it. They have a luggage room for you to store your luggage prior to check in time so if you arrive early you can leave your bags there to explore the city and return later in the evening to check in.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and they even had the map of central Amsterdam at the counter. Right outside the hotel are bicycles which you can rent.

My friends and I loved this place and would highly recommend it. Definitely would stay there again if we went back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with friends last weekend. Although not in Centraal, it's easy to find and the transport system is fantastic.
The staff were lovely, and extremely helpful when we needed guidance, particularly Patrick on the front desk who helped us with all our queries big and small!
It's a great hotel, very clean and friendly with a chilled out atmosphere. I loved the fact there was a kitchenette area to prepare your own food. You can also buy pizzas to cook there from the bar, which also boasts a relatively cheap price for drinks, especially considering you're in a hotel bar!

Free Wifi was brilliant and worked in our rooms, and we had a great night sleep! I will be recommending this place to friend. Great value, friendly staff with a clean and safe environment!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have plenty of storage! On the 5th floor you get a pretty nice view across the busi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

It was hard to believe this low price for such clean and cosy rooms(wide and light), tasty breakfasts with great assortment (muslie/fibre + fruits + tea/coffee + milk + cocoa + more-more etc. and kitchen for selfcooking) and onestep location about metro+tram+bus+train station (less than 20min to center)! Wifi was good. Stuff is friendly and quick. Hope to meet Meininger hotels in other cities :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.