We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)

The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)
Plantage Kerklaan 61a, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
31 20 620 25 35
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$71*
and up
Ranked #11 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed a couple of hours at the Resistance Museum, which was very informative and interesting.

The staff at reception were really great and friendly - and we made use of the excellent audio guide.

Only my youngest daughter made it to the Children's exhibition which has just won a national award, but she said that it was a fantastic addition to the whole museum - even featuring a replica of Anne Frank's house.

With so much else to do in Amsterdam, we were delighted to have spent the time at this museum.
Excellent !!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    403
    96
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This museum is very interesting as it covers the Dutch resistance to nazi Germany during 1940-1945. The museum has a free audio tour & while small in size has loads of information. We went to the maritime museum & then walked over to the verzetsmuseum - a short walk. We used our museumkaart to get in. Entrance is located opposite artis zoo.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The museum is a great museum, they have so much they want to share....and there is literally too much information. I felt that it was scattered and disjointed. I love museums and in particular, I love WWII museums and exhibits. They have so much information at this museum, that it really could be something great, if it were organized and displayed better. It was almost as if they took every piece they had collected and decided that it had to ALL be displayed at the same time. Some of the displays were also difficult to read and see as they were deep shadow boxes, and flush to the wall making it difficult to read the pieces they placed on the sides of the boxes.

All that said, had I been prepared for the presentation and load of info, I think I would have enjoyed it more.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Well-presented exhibits about Dutch life during World War 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Verzetsmuseum is just located across the Artis Zoo and is an excellent companion piece to the Anne Frank House. It features impressively presented multimedia exhibits about Dutch life before, during and after the Second World War. Descriptions and annotations of the displays have English translations and if that isn't enough, your 8 Euro entrance (for adults) comes with a free podcatcher for audio descriptions.

The museum covers the plight of Jews, Dutch collaborators, resistance fighters and even a special exhibit on the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia) and its fight against Japan. But what really stands out are the deeply-moving temporary exhibition of the Children's Camp, where pictures of children shipped from the Netherlands who died in the camp are posted on the walls; and the truly excellent Junior section of the museum which follows the tales of four children (and others) during and after the war. The displays are interactive and adults will surely learn a lot from this section, since the subject and presentation is far from "kiddie" or sanitized.

You can easily connect a visit from Anne Frank to the Verzetsmuseum (or vice versa) by riding Tram 14, getting off at Artis and a short walk to the Resistance Museum itself. There are a lot of cafes around the area in case you need a meal afterwards.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

As a child of Holocaust refugees, I am always interested in learning more about how the people of Europe coped with the horror of Hitler. We all know the story of Anne Frank, but this museum shows how much of Holland worked against the Third Reich. Very poignant vignettes of a variety of people - young and old - and how they responded to the occupation. Panels are in English and Dutch. My only negative comment is that the lighting is low, and the font size is small, so after a while I had to leave because my eyes had gotten too tired to continue.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.