We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough but great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)

The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)
Plantage Kerklaan 61a, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
31 20 620 25 35
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$56*
and up
Ranked #14 of 543 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tough but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Frits time I'd been here when in Amsterdam. We were all pretty tired from walking and museums, so did not expect to be up to engage much. In fact, we were gripped from the beginning, my 15 yr old daughter off on her own,, husband too, and we would hook up and pull each other to exhibits we had been fascinated by. Not easy, but one of our top picks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    461
    109
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth the entrance fee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Really interesting look into war life in Amsterdam. I wouldnt class this as a must-see attraction but great location as it just opposite the zoo. The audio tour was included in our entrance fee and I'd definitely recommend it as it gave a more detailed insight than the displays. The free stools were welcome to. As someone who is more interested in History than art I'd definitely recommend this to people with a similar view. Get your 2nd coffee free was a welcome inclusion with the ticket to. However this is a per person offer so cant be used between two people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sobering and Uplifting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This museum is the best museum I've ever been to. You get your audio guide and then tumble into the world as the Nazi Empire was beginning to take shape. This is a great museum for all ages. The multi-media presentations, the memorabilia, the actual newspapers, news reports, movie reels are astounding! You really get into the sobering aspects of what slowly was happening in Europe that exploded into Dutch society. The heartbreaking decisions that ordinary people had to make-- to live "normally" under the Nazi regime, or to clandestinely fight the Third Reich in the hopes that the Nazis would be driven out. The firsthand accounts of the Dutch, both Christians and Jews, and their plight and how they had to deal with their circumstances on a daily basis until the final Allied victory.

Be sure you are rested and you give yourself plenty of time to see this museum. You may actually need to go back two days to be able to absorb all the exhibits.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amsterdam WWII outside while Ann Frank was inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A really fine exposition of the lives of Dutch resistance against the Nazis. It finishes up with the same time in Dutch colonies, especially Indonesia. Very well done

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A very interesting museum telling a difficult story. Lots of artefacts and plenty of audio visual displays. Most of the displays have an English translation with them. Certainly worth a visit if in the area and it's opposite the Zoo so not hard to miss.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.