We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a slice of life you don't see too often.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)

The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)
Plantage Kerklaan 61a, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
31 20 620 25 35
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$71*
and up
Ranked #11 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Keene, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“This is a slice of life you don't see too often.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife & I visited this sobering museum on Saturday March 16, 2013. It was a cold and dreary day which nicely match the subject matter of this entire museum. Once again, audio guides are strongly suggest and even though all the signage is in English & Dutch, there is so much more given on these audio guides-well worth the extra couple of euros. The museum is well laid out and easy to follow with lots of stops to listen to recordings, view pictures and articles on display. The entire floor plan is level and goes in chronological order by date. Plan to come when it opens at 11 AM because you'll need all that time to go through it all.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    403
    96
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice museum tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The artwork on display was superb. I never appreciated art until I spent some time really examinging the paintings and learning about each piece and artist. The Rembrandt's will amaze you when you are 6 feet from them.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A must see while in Amsterdam, a true story very well told.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited this museum while in Amsterdam. Although we arrived at 4:15 pm and they close at 5:00 we stayed anyway. We are so glad we did. It is laid out very well and easy to navigate. It chronicles the time leading up to, during and after the Nazi's captured, brutalized and tried to break the Dutch people. It uses documents and original artifacts to tell the sometimes confusing story of a people that choose not to fight and die for their freedom and lost it. It lays out how the Jewish people were targeted by Hitler's regime for ridicule, torture and death. It offers a compelling case for sticking together and fighting for our freedoms. In the end the Dutch resistance stayed in the fight and welcomed the Allied troops as they fought and died for freedom for all. A true, eye opening and sober story worth learning about.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A significant story well told”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a brilliant museum and would strongly recommend to anyone with an interest in history or modern Dutch culture.
A difficult subject is handled by using the theme 'Adapt, Resist, or Collaborate?'
Great historical materials, great telling of experiences through individual stories.
Intended only to be in there for 30 minutes and spent all afternoon there!
Easy access via tram - got the #9 from outside the central station.

Would like to see extra exhibitions on the German perspective and from those deported.

A real must-see in Amsterdam

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Give yourself at least two hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was really interesting to learn more about the resistance movements and the reactions of the Dutch to the second world war but there is a LOT to take in - it'll take at least two hours. Very interactive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.