We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sandwiches , best ever, huge choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartenkaas

Hartenkaas
Reestraat 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,105 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakeries
Description: This is a sandwiches shop.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a sandwiches shop.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing sandwiches , best ever, huge choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

It takes them less time To make them than for you to chose one!
The choice is huge, never seen ! The products are very fresh , they put a lot , a lot of ham , cheese aso . They add a special taste too when needed.
You can also sit down and take your time to order or eat.
Price is also very good for the 9 streets and the size and content!
Suggestion : make halfs and share !
Enjoy !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Quick Fresh Great Value Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Don't be put off by the 'basic' looking Sandwich shop. There is a HUGE choice of warm and cold sandwiches all priced at 4.80. The ham and cheese is all whole at the counter and he cuts it fresh to order. There is a choice of brown and white bread. The sadnwiches were delicious - no complaints from either my husband or myself. It's a great choice for lunch while wandering 9 streets.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fresh sandwiches with great choices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic sandwich shop in the centre of Amsterdam just around the corner from Anne Frank's Huis. Was so pleased with the place, ended up returning three times. All sandwiches were freshly made, bread was fresh and the filling options were more than you could get through. Price was reasonable whilst the owners were polite and helpful by handing out translated versions of he menu. You have the option to take out or to have in and each time chose to stay in which, I have to say, was my only gripe as it was too cramped. The warm satay sandwich was to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hot Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Came here a couple of times for a cheap lunch during our visit to Amsterdam. 2 amazing hot sandwiches and cokes for 13 euros. They have a small seating area, if you want to eat indoors and also free wifi. Particularly recommend the Chicken Satay and Pork with Garlic Sauce sandwiches. Staff were very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches, Even Nicer People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Amsterdam. I stumbled across a recommendation for this wonderful sandwich and cheese shop. We took the self-guided "9 Street" walk and this cafe/sandwich shop is at the end. The bread is fresh baked, the meat is cut right in front of you, and there is a large selection of vegetarian options.
All the staff were pleasant, but the young lady working there was especially nice and made a heck of a sandwich. We were in Amsterdam for four days, and ate lunch here on three of the days. Worth the walk!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartenkaas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hartenkaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartenkaas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.