We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap choice for a decent meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Giovanni

San Giovanni
Waterlooplein 239 | 1011 PG, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,140 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
Description: Great little italian restaurant , is where the locals go and definitely needs to be mentioned. Decent prices and food was delicious. It's on Waterlooplein at number 239 , not too far from the city centre of Amsterdam.Open Monday to Sunday from 11.00 to 23.00. Tel : 020-4272795
Restaurant details
Description: Great little italian restaurant , is where the locals go and definitely needs to be mentioned. Decent prices and food was delicious. It's on Waterlooplein at number 239 , not too far from the city centre of Amsterdam.Open Monday to Sunday from 11.00 to 23.00. Tel : 020-4272795
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Cheap choice for a decent meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A good choice near the Stopera to get a cheap meal but at a decent quality.
It's somewhat of a local pizza place but don't expect some scenic views or great decor inside.

Some 15 minutes walk to the old city center.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Staple Italian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went here for our first meal in Amsterdam after a long day travelling and were pleased with our choice. We chose it because of its close proximity to our hotel and because the food is pretty standard so you can't go wrong. We ended up ordering the same meal and it was really very tasty, and for the area the drinks were quite cheap. The place could you with a bit of new decor but it was clean, warm and welcoming. Best to pay by cash as they add extra to pay by card. Overall, nothing hugely special but for a standard evening meal quite fulfilling.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Anything, but pasta!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a disappointment, I had been looking forward to an italian pasta meal, what I got was pasta in tomato soup and find the meat if you can, it was fortunate that they give you a spoon as well as a fork as I would never have got the liquid down, just awful but my wife and friends had steaks and spare ribs which they ate with a relish and enjoyed, so on that score I've rated it average. The manager and waiter came to our table, both smoking to ask if everything was Ok, that was it for me, being a non smoker with asthma.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't go for the grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The mixed pasta platter was good, apart from the lasagna bit. The beef was rather small and the fries limp and lackluster. There was a hair in the fries and a piece of plastic wrapper or shrink wrap in the pasta sauce. Prices are good for Amsterdam but I wouldn't eat there a second time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmond, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped here for lunch one day and we were surprised at the quality of the food and service. We did not expect much from the looks of the outside and we were really cold, so we decided to pop in to get warm. My father loved his Lasagna Bolognese, my wife's Spaghetti Carbonara was great and I had the Pizza Diavolo which was good but not as spicy as I had hoped. We all really enjoyed it and would recommend it to any one else.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Giovanni also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.