We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Great Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iron Horse to your Saves list
Hotel Iron Horse
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 312 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Great Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here in January this year with 2 other couples. The trip was amazing. The rooms at Hotel Iron Horse are basic, much like a travelodge. We got an excellent price because of the time of year, I am not sure I would pay the full, high season price though. There were a few worrying faults in our room, mainly to do with the plug sockets, many were unusable. When you tried to remove your plug from the socket the whole socket came away from the wall leaving exposed wires. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we did inform them of the problem. It was nice to be able to help yourself to their free tea and coffee in the reception whilst we were waiting for our friends. Overall a good stay and I would stay again, at the same sort of price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    178
    59
    15
    15
See reviews for
44
171
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I can't comment on the value as this was paid for me and we didn't eat breakfast in the hotel. Myself and a friend stayed in a twin bedded downstairs room facing onto the courtyard. It was clean, comfortable and quiet - the odd bit of laundry going past but nothing that disturbed us or woke us up. Reasonably spacious room although a couple of drawers would have been useful. Handy safe in the wardrobe. Clean, tea and coffee replaced daily for the kettle in the room. Wifi dropped out a bit at busy times but ok in the mornings. The only downside was that the room was air-conditioned and you couldn't open any of the windows to let any fresh air in. Very helpful reception staff and a nice supermarket 5 minutes down the road. Easy walking distance to the bus from the airport and general facilities, I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A basic, budget hotel, a touchstone to rest after a busy day sightseeing the beautiful city of Amsterdam. A tram stop is located 2 min from the hotel and this is useful if you are planning to go around the city on tram.
Hotel was clean, room is small but if you are not planning on spending your day at the hotel, then that shouldn't be a big problem. The window faces another room's window so can't really open the curtains if you don't like to be seen.
Bathroom was clean and of decent size.
Staff was friendly and helpful, ready to share advices.

on the negative side: soundproofing of the room is not good, I could hear people talking from the room next door. A/C is also loud so if you are a light sleeper take your earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed four nights in Hotel Iron Horse in middle May. Hotel was clean, our room was big enough for two people with a decent shower and on the ground floor. The only problem was our room had no window. They said most of the rooms had no window as well. First we wanted to change the room, then decided not to, because we did not to climb those stairs. Location was very good, you're close to everywhere. With tram number 1, getting to city center takes 8-10 minutes. There were nice restaurants and cafes around, safe neighborhood. Breakfast was good and free coffee machine in the reception. Staff was helpful. All in all, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a budget hotel and the basics are fine - the bed is comfortable, the breakfast OK, the wifi fine, the TV large, the staff polite, the room clean, the location reasonably central. The room is very small, however, the stairs vertiginous and my room had no windows, just an adequate air conditioning system on maximum volume. I felt it was rather like a prison cell run by a very enlightened management determined to ensure adequate treatment of the inmates. For a few days it's OK - does one really need a window? But it's quite an austere experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went for a three day break to Amsterdam and stayed at the Hotel Iron Horse. Great location and a couple of minutes walk from the square. We had a slight problem on our first night that was sorted by Renske and Anabel on reception. Our room was fine with a lovely shower and the buffet breakfast set us up for the mornings excursions.You must try the hot chocolate in reception, gorgeous after a night out. Would certainly recommend this hotel if you want peace and quiet a short distance from all the action.A good base to see all the sights.

Room Tip: We got room 115 just a short walk from reception. Room 102 is small with only a sky light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel location is really nice, just some meters from the Leidseplein Square from where you can take buses directly to the airport (line 197) and take the most part of Amsterdam Trams Lines. It’s also possible to access the Amsterdam Central Area walking, enjoying this amazing city.
In a city where the most part of hotels are really expensive, the Iron Horse could be considered a great value hotel and a nice surprise. The room size was good with carpet on floor. You have a renovated bathroom and good internet wi-fi signal.
The bed is very soft and may be a problem for people not adapted with this kind of bed. Need some improvement in the room cleaning, mainly on the carpet under the bed. Probably just some lack of attention of the hotel maid..
Breakfast is not included in the standard rate, but you have two supermarkets very close to the hotel where you can buy your own breakfast and also the famous Dutch stroopwalfles.
Prepare yourself to pay the hotel rates at the checkin moment. To access the hotel suites, there is a gate beside the reception, so it’s not necessary to pass thru the reception desk to access your room.
The staff is very accessible and friendly. Due to this hotel configuration, expect for a little interaction with them during your staying. Probably you'll just meet them during checkin and checkout moments. This is a very good option for independent people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iron Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.