We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austere but does what it says on the tin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iron Horse to your Saves list
Hotel Iron Horse
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Austere but does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a budget hotel and the basics are fine - the bed is comfortable, the breakfast OK, the wifi fine, the TV large, the staff polite, the room clean, the location reasonably central. The room is very small, however, the stairs vertiginous and my room had no windows, just an adequate air conditioning system on maximum volume. I felt it was rather like a prison cell run by a very enlightened management determined to ensure adequate treatment of the inmates. For a few days it's OK - does one really need a window? But it's quite an austere experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    205
    72
    16
    16
See reviews for
52
194
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went for a three day break to Amsterdam and stayed at the Hotel Iron Horse. Great location and a couple of minutes walk from the square. We had a slight problem on our first night that was sorted by Renske and Anabel on reception. Our room was fine with a lovely shower and the buffet breakfast set us up for the mornings excursions.You must try the hot chocolate in reception, gorgeous after a night out. Would certainly recommend this hotel if you want peace and quiet a short distance from all the action.A good base to see all the sights.

Room Tip: We got room 115 just a short walk from reception. Room 102 is small with only a sky light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel location is really nice, just some meters from the Leidseplein Square from where you can take buses directly to the airport (line 197) and take the most part of Amsterdam Trams Lines. It’s also possible to access the Amsterdam Central Area walking, enjoying this amazing city.
In a city where the most part of hotels are really expensive, the Iron Horse could be considered a great value hotel and a nice surprise. The room size was good with carpet on floor. You have a renovated bathroom and good internet wi-fi signal.
The bed is very soft and may be a problem for people not adapted with this kind of bed. Need some improvement in the room cleaning, mainly on the carpet under the bed. Probably just some lack of attention of the hotel maid..
Breakfast is not included in the standard rate, but you have two supermarkets very close to the hotel where you can buy your own breakfast and also the famous Dutch stroopwalfles.
Prepare yourself to pay the hotel rates at the checkin moment. To access the hotel suites, there is a gate beside the reception, so it’s not necessary to pass thru the reception desk to access your room.
The staff is very accessible and friendly. Due to this hotel configuration, expect for a little interaction with them during your staying. Probably you'll just meet them during checkin and checkout moments. This is a very good option for independent people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo, SP
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I went to Amsterdam with my fiancée to spend 2014 NYE. When we entered the room, we found some problems and asked the staff to fix it or to move us to another room.
As the problem couldn't be solved quickly, they gave us another room, very cozy and more comfortable.
Very friendly staff.
Very well located hotel, near public transportation and touristic attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with access to the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel Iron Horse is a converted, old police station. In fact, you can still recognize the stable outside of the building, where the police horses were kept; once upon a time.

I have been traveling from New York to Amsterdam every year, for about 8 years now. I have stayed a number of times at the Sheraton outside of Schiphol, but kept finding myself having to take a 50 euro taxi ride from business meetings and dinners in Leidseplein.

Three years ago I thought that I would give the Iron Horse a try.

I couldn't of been more delighted with my choice. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The staff is pleasent and helpful. The food, crowds and entertainment of Leidseplein are just a few meters away, yet I never hear any of it from my hotel room.

Transportation via a number of different tram lines are readily available and the most affordable way to travel through Amsterdam. Many attractions are within walking distance of the hotel as well.

I strongly recommend this hotel. I stay for business, but would gladly stay for a vacation as well.

Room Tip: No lift available in the hotel. The stairs are also very steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Unfortunately I only got to stay here one night, however it was a great place to stay and centrally located in Liedseplein. Everything was in walking distance, which made it easy to navigate. Hotel Iron Horse was once a police station and has now become a hotel. The rooms are clean and simple, and the bathroom (which personally is the most important part of a room) was extremely clean and modern. The hotel seems to be very small, but it end of being a maze to find your room, and when you might have had one too many.... not so easy to find ones room. The standard room (which I stayed in) is very small- not a lot of room for two people. And I did notice that noise leaks in, not very sound proof. It wasn't that bad, but just a helpful note. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

A bare-bones establishment with small, modern rooms, convenient to Liedseplein and Museumplein and only one tram ride from Central Station. Some noise leaks in from adjacent rooms, but nothing too disruptive. Decent water pressure and the shower isn't too complicated to operate. Good restaurants in the area. And the staff aims to please. Warning: no elevator, and you have to go downstairs to the breakfast room (7.5 Euros/day for a basic continental breakfast).

Room Tip: Rooms in the back require that you traverse an open-air courtyard, but they're also isolated fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iron Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.