We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride the Iron Horse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iron Horse to your Saves list
Hotel Iron Horse
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ride the Iron Horse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The front desk staff was wonderful, it was easy to get to the hotel via tram, and the hotel is in walking distance to the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum.

There were two or three canal boat tours within a few blocks and the area was lots cleaner and greener than the area closer to the train station.

I stayed in the Jordaan last time but prefer this area, the Vondelpark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    155
    49
    14
    14
See reviews for
37
140
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katerini, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We specificly ask for a room with a nice view in upper floor.We have seen fotos of hotel and we have read the description but we weren't prepeared for THAT room.It was a tiny room beside the entrance without...WINDOWS.Yes,this is fact there wasn't any window.We immediately asked for an other room.The second room was in 1st floor and also was tiny and it had a window faced the wall of the building beside the hotel.The worst thing of all, there were renovation working in progress and we were waked up at 8 o'clock in the morning. We were asked to pay at the check in ,which didn't pleased us. Besides all this the hotel was in very good location with many restaurants and bars nearby. Bus 197 transfer you directly to the Schiphol airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Iron Horse during May of 2013. Hotel staff was very friendly. As with most hotels they will allow you to stow your luggage with them until check in time, but the staff here was very informative on things to do to kill time. The hotel was located in a very convenient location (close to public transportation and relatively close to sights).When you stay they offer brochures to some sights in Amsterdam that can save you a few €'s on your visits. Hotel was clean and bed was very comfy. A nice surprise for the amount of $$ spent for a night. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiden, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our 3 day stay in Amsterdam. The hotel was extremely clean, the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was a 5-10 minute walk from the restaurant district, and less than 20 minute walk from many main attractions (Anne Frank House, Heineken Brewery, Van Gogh Museum, etc.) The only thing that I would say was negative was that the walls were a little thin. I woke up many times from loud neighbors and the housekeepers cleaning. We took advice from other reviewers and ate breakfast elsewhere which I was glad we did. There is a nice place for breakfast right next door. However, the hotel does provide complimentary espresso, coffee, hot chocolate and cappuccino.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel rooms have recently been updated. The location to transportation is great, breakfast is good, hotel staff is very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others. The bus to the city centre is about a block away and a 10 minute ride.

Room Tip: there is no elevator, if that is a concern, if you wish a view be sure to ask for one, many rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very clean hotel.
The only con about this hotel is no smoking policy. Every room with a smoking sensor and you'll be fine 150euro if get caught.
Strategic location.
Free wifi.
From airport take a bus no.179 to Leidseplein (4 euro).
and the nerest CoffeeShop is Tweedy (150m) =)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its discount rate on hotels.com, and its location. It was 35% off! Overall it's was ok. We had great wi-fi connection and the staff was really nice. There were little details, though. We got the basement Room that was right next to the breakfast room, so if you'd like to sleep in, make sure you don't get the room 16! Also the bed sheets had little holes in them, but nothing to be scared of. The hotel is one square away from the main streets and from the most important museums. Good luck!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iron Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.