We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Iron Horse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Iron Horse
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you can get past the rather naff horse theme, this is a decent hotel for the price. We paid £380 for 3 nights during (UK) half term and at short notice which isn’t bad for Amsterdam and have no complaints.

The staff were helpful and efficient. The rooms are simple, clean, modern and comfortable if a little small and with limited views/daylight but better than many others we have stayed in. It’s in a very convenient location for the usual tourist stuff such as the Rijksmuseum and Leidseplien. Didn’t try breakfast so can’t comment on the food.

Overall a very good experience and would happily stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    137
    42
    12
    12
See reviews for
33
120
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have booked a double room on Iron Horse Hotel (Overtoorm Straat 33, Amsterdam, few minutes walk form the Leidsplein, you cross the bridge, then right after the walkway, then first street left). The Hotel is nice, calm, and few minutes from Museum Square and Leid Square). The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. You can leave you luggage if you need to after check-out.
Avoid room 102, not well ventlillated and a bit hot. One of the inconvenieces is the windows are in the roof. But second night we were offered a triple room (for 2) which was larger and more lit (120). A suitcase is provided, you can have a breakfast for 7 euros, worth it. I think it is nice hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102, check if the windows in the roof can be easily closed automatically
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband booked this hotel because it stated it was .7 k from Central Station..... It's not you would need a taxi or catch the hop on hop off bus or boat. Overall is a lovely hotel, clean and had what we needed except opening windows. As our air conditioner was broken and blowing hot air only, the room was stifling. They couldn't or wouldn't change our room and could not offer any other alternative we asked for a fan which did help a bit. Honestly it was so hot in there and the weather outside was 15c. This really ruined my time there we stayed one night only.

Room Tip: If air con was working it would be good accommodation. It has trams out the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just came back from a lovely 3night stay at Hotel Iron Horse. Staff were very pleasant, room very clean with towel & bedding change, TV, great shower pressure and soft beds. Their notice reads hotel refurbished (2012) A previous guest I'd met from USA thought room was small, but to me it's similar in size to most city hotels I have stayed: perfectly fitting as a city base, however there is no fridge and our window could not open!
Location: very close to Vondel Park, Rijks Museum and some main bus/tram stops - can get bus 197 from Airport to hotel 35minutes €4. In fact if this is first time travelling to Amsterdam you will find it easy to find/walk to most places Dam Sq, Red Light District, Anne Frank House you cannot really get lost. It's a charming city you will have fun meandering from one destination to another: or via a canal ride you can book tix from most places in Centrum (we paid €12.50).
The hotel has a good mini market and chemist three doors either side and its also around corner from Leidesplein district with many bars and restaurants to choose from, Iron Horse proved easy getting home from the local nightlife. A relaxed city we felt very safe here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here one night only on a business trip and wasn't expecting much because the room was so cheap, but the room was comfortable, with a much larger bathroom than many European hotels. Rooms at the rear facing onto the courtyard are quiet, and the beds are comfortable. There are plenty of options for breakfast in the neighbourhood, including a café right next door. The hotel breakfast is not good value.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter. Like all older Dutch buildings, the stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked three days at this hotel, my last stop on a twelve day European trip. My son returned from Afghanistan/ US Army while I was away. There was a serious emergency back home and I had to cut the trip short. Delta/KLM accommodated the change with speed and compassion. Not so this hotel. I used booking.com for the reservation and despite two contacts from them and a personal appeal form me, the management refused to cancel even one night of the reservation! I understand a cancellation policy but how about understanding an Emergency? No Humanity. the desk staff is very rude and by the way, NO Parking anywhere near the place. Do Not Stay Here if you want a warm wonderful travel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleased with the room, which was very clean and modern, though simply furnished. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room that does not face the street. Excellent location. Reception staff were helpful. We arrived quite early in the day and were offered an early check-in, which was very appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iron Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.