We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Iron Horse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Iron Horse
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Well located, friendly service, recently rebuilt/redecorated, clan, tea and coffee making facilities in the room - a completely different level than the damp trap you usually get in Amsterdam for the same amount of money. On the minus side, the window was cemented, so we had to rely exclusively on air conditioning, the ground floor was still undergoing renovation and there was a short power cut why we were there.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    143
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
35
127
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews I was abit sceptical about this 3 star.
I'm not usually a review writer but I really feel as though this place deserves alot more credit..
Yes, it is quite far from dam square, but the tram system runs along overtoom street, with numbers 1 2 and 5 running frequently, it's hard to notice the distance. Iron horse is literally 5 minutes from the van gogh museum and the I AmSterdam sign that you see in everyones pictures.

In contrast to other reviews, the three members of staff we met during our 3 nights stay were all pleasant. The chinese lady who greeted us on arrival and white lady with short brown hair were both so friendly and couldn't have been more helpful in answerering our questions. 
Our room was on the ground floor in the back building, and yes the hotel is still undergoing refurbishment but apart from a little sawdust on some of the corridor floors, this really didnt affect our stay at all. The room was big, clean and even had an extra bed (one we hadnt asked for but didnt mind keeping) as we'd booked the last available room in the hotel so cheaply on booking.com. 
The room offered tea and coffee making facilities, a tv, luggage rack, and a safe in the wardrobe. We were suprised at how much the room had, considering the hotel's website has limited information. 
The bathroom was one we'd expect to see in a higher-graded hotel. Everything was brand new and clean. 
Apart from the two spiders we encountered (which staff were helpful in getting rid of!) and the fact we had no window in our room, only a skylight (which personally made us feel safer) we were extremely happy with this hotel. The main doors are locked at night, and access is given via intercom, something they hadn't made us aware of at first. On our second night the reception had closed and we were outside at approx 2am wondering if we were locked out for the night as nobody answered. But a male member of staff came down and apologised for taking so long, ensuring us access to hotel residents was always 24hours. The free wifi caused no problems at all and the vouchers and maps available in reception leave you with plenty of things to see and do. The hotel overall was much better than I had anticipated. I've travelled alot and the standards in this place I personally think are worth more than the 3 stars. If you're happy to stay away from dam square, but with museums, shops and bars around the corner then I would definately recommend staying here. Personally I'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were at this hotel 3 nigths between 11 and 13 may, and it wasn't a pleasant experience.

We had made our reservation via "bookings.com" and we'd requested for an extra bed in one of the rooms. After this, we received an email from "info@hotelironhorse.com" asking us for some information about the age of the person who was going to sleep on the additional bed. We answered it, and after this, they confirmed us by email that everything was sorted (this was one month in advance of our trip).

So, we arrived in Amsterdam and we went to make the check-in at the hotel. First, the person who took care of it, made us to pay in advanced (for me, it's a bit strange and I've travelled a lot, but if this was the policy of hotel I can understand, so we paid). But the problem was that after having paid for a double room and a double room with this extra bed (it was 45 euros by night above the normal price of a double room), we went to the room and there wasn't an extra bed at all. So you can imagine our surprise... We went to the reception and told the person in charge, and after some calls, other employee told us that there weren't extra bed at all. We couldn't believe it, after the email they had sent us and the fact that we'd already been paid for this service.

He explained us that this type of extra request must be confirmed by the hotel and so on... After showing him the email we'd received, he offered us as solution the possibility of having an individual bedroom for the person who was going to sleep in the extra bed, paying one plus of 15 euros per night (it was the same that having an individual room by 60 euros by night, he told us). As we're on holiday and we'd already paid, we accepted it, but it wasn't a good presentation card for this new hotel in Amsterdam. It's the first time in all my trips that I've got problems after having checking special request with the hotel (I think this isn't very professional and they should take care of it).

About the rest of conditions of the hotel, you should know that it's still in works and it's an inconvenient (no airconditioning, no lift, noises, workers in the comun areas...). The bedrooms are new, but there are some of them in the basement and on the ground floor that don't have any ventilation. We don't have breakfast at the hotel, so I can't say anything of it. The situation is good, you have several lines of trams in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement and on ground floor don't have ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a newly converted building (not yet completed) which offered a well appointed clean and quiet room which was well serviced during a two night stay. The location is ideal, just around the corner from lively Leidseplein. There are plenty of interesting local restaurants nearby. An airport bus (#197; 4 euros; 35 minutes) is close by on Leidsestraat. Most points of interest can be reached on foot, but due to the mainly cobbled streets comfortable shoes are recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear building are quiet. Some slight noise from above on the ground floor, so first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirltand, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Had a good stay here. Hotel is very new. It is in a very good location. Just a few minutes walk from Leidsplein square and street which is a great place to eat, hangout and mingle with locals. there are many tram stops a few minutes away as well. Amsterdam is easy to get around- walking or using the tram. We didn;t have breakfast at the hotel. You can probably get bfast cheaper elsewhere. Room was newly furnished and clean. comfortable. Front desk staff were happy to print out any documents you need if you email it to them. From the airport you can take one tram. Very easy to get to. Happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Excellent location for easy access to main amsterdam attractions. Newly refurbished rooms. Nice breakfast with good choice. Clean rooms. Brilliant bathroom with spacious shower. Simple furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities in bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful at check in. Location is good, just around the corner of Leidseplein. Both room and bathroom were clean.Our double room was quite small. A bit overprized for a three star hotel, but thats nothing unusual for Amsterdam. However, the real bad points are: you cant open any window for fresh air, there is no heater in the bathroom (it was really cold in there) and in the room, the heating system (van-system) was difficult to regulate. It was either really hot or really cold, also the van was a bit noisy.
At check out, it was possible to leave our suitcase at the reception which is good. However, when we got back a few hours later to pick up our things, the guy at the reception didn't ask our names or room numbers. It was also the first time he saw us. He just said "Go ahead". There were lots of bags and suitcases there and basically a self-service for thiefs. We wouldnt like to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iron Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.