We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go out of my way to find this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Langebrugsteeg 4, 1012 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
204230499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,249 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
devon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go out of my way to find this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After reading the reviews I thought I was in for a real treat but just a very very ordinary cafe which was a bit poky and manic. Sorry but there is nothing special about this venue. Extremely overated ordinary food and not worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    114
    33
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not Leave Amsterdam without Stopping Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are in town for a month and try not to go to the same place twice but cant resist returning to the LK. Best for lunch but we have even taken out for dinner - probably been here 8 times already. The French Toast croissant "dessert" is a killer. The owner loves looking out from the back and catch those passing by do a double take to see the day's display of quiches and pastries. HIs philosophy is simple - fresh ingredients, great portions and good value and he succeeds all around. After you sample the numerous veggie / meat quiches and bread puddings, dont overlook the sandwiches. You'll be hard pressed not to return as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to try De laatste Kruimel. Despite some early morning rain and lack of street signs, we found this tiny gem of a place. There are only a handful of tables with crates topped with cushions to sit on which adds to the ambience. Due to the rain we did not sit out back on the tiny balcony.

I had the French Toast which had a crumbly topping and just the right amount of spice. Everything was so good, we purchased additional items to go on the way out.

This place is now on my list whenever I am back in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Fantastic little balcony at the back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had breakfast here one morning and was delighted not only with the quality of food, but also the very friendly service! Above all, it had a lovely little balcony out back overlooking the canal! It was such a delight to start the day in such lovely surroundings....go and definately have a seat outside overlooking the canal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice but not special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

went on advise of tripadvisor it is a nice shop but really nothing special maybey good to have a cup of coffee and that is all walked a long way to find do not trouble yourself for this

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De laatste Kruimel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.