We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go out of my way to find this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Langebrugsteeg 4, 1012 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
204230499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 121 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
devon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go out of my way to find this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

After reading the reviews I thought I was in for a real treat but just a very very ordinary cafe which was a bit poky and manic. Sorry but there is nothing special about this venue. Extremely overated ordinary food and not worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shipponrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Denver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not Leave Amsterdam without Stopping Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are in town for a month and try not to go to the same place twice but cant resist returning to the LK. Best for lunch but we have even taken out for dinner - probably been here 8 times already. The French Toast croissant "dessert" is a killer. The owner loves looking out from the back and catch those passing by do a double take to see the day's display of quiches and pastries. HIs philosophy is simple - fresh ingredients, great portions and good value and he succeeds all around. After you sample the numerous veggie / meat quiches and bread puddings, dont overlook the sandwiches. You'll be hard pressed not to return as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to try De laatste Kruimel. Despite some early morning rain and lack of street signs, we found this tiny gem of a place. There are only a handful of tables with crates topped with cushions to sit on which adds to the ambience. Due to the rain we did not sit out back on the tiny balcony.

I had the French Toast which had a crumbly topping and just the right amount of spice. Everything was so good, we purchased additional items to go on the way out.

This place is now on my list whenever I am back in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Europe_Traveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Fantastic little balcony at the back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had breakfast here one morning and was delighted not only with the quality of food, but also the very friendly service! Above all, it had a lovely little balcony out back overlooking the canal! It was such a delight to start the day in such lovely surroundings....go and definately have a seat outside overlooking the canal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hemikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice but not special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

went on advise of tripadvisor it is a nice shop but really nothing special maybey good to have a cup of coffee and that is all walked a long way to find do not trouble yourself for this

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayexpert121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing