We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Langebrugsteeg 4, 1012 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
204230499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Encinitas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow. This is a hidden gem. We splurged on one of the meat bread puddings; it was incredible. If you find yourself in Amsterdam, you must seek out this place. Amazing coffee and french toast too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    112
    33
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great find.....but let's keep it our secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a jewel this little gem of a restaurant is! Hidden just off the beaten path in Amsterdam this place specializes in desserts....OMG good and breakfast specialties. Just a tiny place oozing with charm and delightful offerings. We had the meat bread pudding, along with a polenta something or other for a breakfast that would last the day. Delish! The women that work in the shop are super nice, but the real star is the food. We HAD to go back a second time for apple pie, but let's just keep it our secret, if the word gets out they will have to expand to the size of a super market!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Get off the tram at Speil, and walk towards the diamond museum with a windmill and go do the little alley way.. there you will find this amazing little cafe, tingy outside seating area you would be lucky to find a seat but wow the food is amazing... all on display and tastes amazing, I had a meaty bread and butter pudding! perfect place to stop for lunch!!! Go!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It has been more than month since we visited De laatste Kruimel in Amsterdam but we are still talking about their incredible French Toast pastries. Everything we tasted was delicious and fresh and the staff could not have been more friendly. Forget the $50 breakfast at the Sofitel and walk two blocks to De Laaste Kruimel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It's a hidden little place were you can have good coffee and delicious pastry. It's really original and if you can squeeze in for a "table" with the view of the canal, it'll be a great start of you day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De laatste Kruimel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.