We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Langebrugsteeg 4, Amsterdam 1012 GB, The Netherlands
204230499
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 2,141 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lecce, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this awesome bakery! Feels like a time warp, taking you in a 19th century place full of delicious fresh products just baked. Absolutely recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    82
    22
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Scones I've Ever Had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I cannot have been happier when my family and I decided to eat at this bakery for breakfast. It is a small place but is cosy and everything is freshly made in front of you. The staff were nice and helpful and led me to having the forest fruit scone. Oh my was it good! Definitely the best scone I've ever had as it tasted like a scone but had the softness of a blueberry muffin. When you are in Amsterdam I would highly recommend eating here or just to grab a bite to go because you will not regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A delightful epicurean gem not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This little bakery/coffee/sandwich shop is a breath of fresh air that I happened upon by chance.

In contrast to the busy streets of A'dam, the atmosphere was warm, cozy, and relaxing with a beautiful and friendly staff. Do take your time ordering as there are sweets and quiches in the storefront window, sandwiches on the chalkboard menu, and croissants and scones in abundance to choose from.

You may also choose from a sampling of jams laid out on the counter (although the scones were good on their own). The plain scone was really good with various jams and lemon curd (I ate here almost everyday, so I sampled quite a few). Said jams are homemade, and I bought a jar because of the pineapple-basil.. it was like nothing I've ever tasted before! They had other interesting flavors as well... tomato-rosemary, strawberry, etc..

I also tried many of the sandwiches, one of which was the goat's cheese. It was slightly melted and paired with an olive-apple tapenade. The sandwiches were as unique and delightful to the palate as the baked goods and jams, all of which are fresh and homemade on premise (including the jams).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot fo breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

To a lovely french soundtrack and the smell of warming breads abd quiches this shop oozes style. Little tables crammed on the walls and stacks of cakes in the window. The coffee is good, the canal view nice. Well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is hard to find, as name was not obvious from outside, just recognized from the shop window because of tripadvisor user photos, passed by at first. Pastries were very good, got the Rasberry crumb cake slice, and the almond pastry called French toast. Cute little seating out back too, but full sun when we got there so sat inside. Ice coffee Ed a bit week, but refreshing. Go for the sweets, fun to watch them prepare other goodies for the oven while we sat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De laatste Kruimel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.