We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake is tasty, waiting long.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Langebrugsteeg 4, 1012 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
204230499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 48 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cake is tasty, waiting long.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Little nice store in Amsterdam. Website is very compact. When we where there it was very busy and had to wait to long. The cake was tasty, however, what our eyes to the expensive side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    66
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've tried only two cakes - chocolate and apple tart. Both delicious. It is very rare to eat a whole piece of chocolate cake and still crave for more. Definitely a place we will come back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Little cafe & bakery with magic touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This little cafe & bakery on a narrow little street feels magic - an abundance of imaginative quiches, delicious pies, colourful cakes fill the shop window and tempt you in to try. The people who run the place seem to be relaxed and really enjoy what they do. Some are serving the customers, others busily baking something delicious at the back of the shop, carrying baskets of apples and peaches along. Everything is made on the spot. The decor is quirky and inventive, and there is even a tiny terass at the back to the canal for a sunny day. I tried the mushroom and walnut quiche which was superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly delicious and my new best desert spot and Amsterdam!!
It is definitely recommended and don't forget about the freshly made sandwiches, Yum!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for an escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I walked by this café and was beckoned in by all the delicious snacks they had on display in their storefront window. This is a great little spot to take a break. The café is cozy with a few tables for you to choose from or if you wish to catch the sunray there is a small patio at the back of the café that overlooks a small but busy canal.

The savory and sweet snacks available are made on the premises. On the savory side you can choose from a selection of quiche, bread pudding and scones. Their quiche is not the run of the mill variety. I had their mushroom and pesto quiche - yummy. For dessert there are at least about a dozen to choose from. They also make to order sandwiches which are listed on their chalkboard menu.

While I was in Amsterdam I dropped by this café a few times. It is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of being a tourist. You can get refreshing non-alcoholic drinks or if you are in the mood for a hot drink choose from their selection of teas or coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De laatste Kruimel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.