We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Langebrugsteeg 4, 1012 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
204230499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,414 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Leysin, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for an escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I walked by this café and was beckoned in by all the delicious snacks they had on display in their storefront window. This is a great little spot to take a break. The café is cozy with a few tables for you to choose from or if you wish to catch the sunray there is a small patio at the back of the café that overlooks a small but busy canal.

The savory and sweet snacks available are made on the premises. On the savory side you can choose from a selection of quiche, bread pudding and scones. Their quiche is not the run of the mill variety. I had their mushroom and pesto quiche - yummy. For dessert there are at least about a dozen to choose from. They also make to order sandwiches which are listed on their chalkboard menu.

While I was in Amsterdam I dropped by this café a few times. It is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of being a tourist. You can get refreshing non-alcoholic drinks or if you are in the mood for a hot drink choose from their selection of teas or coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    43
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best bakery in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The place is small but pleasant, everywhere there are also beautiful details from their chairs made ​​of wood until the lamps. Absolutely everything is incredibly divine, so do not hesitate to try anything, but they can not fail to try the french toast, cherry pie with almond and any of the wide variety of quiches, are sublime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to be staying very close to this small cafe and we quickly fell in love with it. I can easily say they have the best quiche I have ever had - nothing we found in Paris afterwards could even come close. We will definitely return the next time we travel to Amsterdam and will recommend to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Everything homemade, fresh and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found this by chance!

We were walking around area of University of Amsterdam and saw this small bakery shop being packed with a lot of customers. We've decided to try even though we just had a light lunch!

It's good that we tried, all the pastries were homemade! They're all fresh and delicious. We ordered a croissant and a zuccini cake, they are all good! The croissant was served with homemade jam too.

If only I found this shop on my first day of trip, I could have come here every single day!

My detailed reviews in my blog:
http://photocautious.blogspot.sg/2013/04/de-laaisie-kruimel-good-conclusion-of.html

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Adorable little place
Magical atmosphere
Tasty food with good variety
Beautiful setting
Very friendly service
Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De laatste Kruimel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.