We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantis to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantis
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ceintuurbaan 215-217, 1074 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Avoid this hotel. The room on the ground floor we had smelled so bad from some kind of issue with the plumbing. The room had no windows and was cramped to say the least. Also, my card was blocked for the room fee and still hasn't been cleared when I actually paid in cash at the hotel. They told me it would take 9 days to clear, I travel with work regularly and any blocks on my card are usually cleared instantly.
Like most Amsterdam hotels, this one is over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    85
    65
    12
    20
See reviews for
16
95
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is nice enough, the rooms were clean and basic done in a modern style, quite small but thats fine if you just want to sleep, the bed was very comfortable. On the negative side the safe and the phone in my room didn't work and I only managed to connect to the wifi on one occasion, which was mildly annoying but my main criticism would be that it was quite noisy, I was repeatedly woken up by the sound of doors slamming. The main door to my room had a dampner on it so I can't understand why there was so much noise from other doors. I would suggest that the cleaning staff are made aware of this as they were partially responsible and probably completely unaware of how loud it is in guests rooms. Especially for people like me who sleep late!

On a seperate note if you do stay there make sure you check out Hutspot, its a shop/cafe around the corner, their sandwiches and cakes are fab.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at this over-priced and unfriendly hotel while attending a conference at RAI. The prices were inflated because of the crowds in Amsterdam. I found little to recommend this place. At least it was acceptably clean. I would not stay there again, nor recommend it to friends. Surely Amsterdam can do better.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

at first I was not really happy with this hotel, but then when I heard what my colleague was experiencing at the "v" it kinda put it into perspective. From a functional point of view everything was working, the bed was quite okay actually (it's pretty soft - depends if you like soft mattresses), the heating worked, the shower was ok, but in general it all just didn't feel clean even though it probably was and that's because everything is so old... but if you can live with that, it's actually quite ok. I did not take the breakfast (it's 9 euro). Locationwise it was pretty easy for me because the 4 goes to the RAI where I attended a conference, but also goes to rembrandt plein and then the central station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had no trouble finding Hotel Atlantis. The tram from the train station arrives very close by. Loved being close to the canals and some funky cafes. Found it easy to walk to most places and tram connections were excellent. Unfortunately there was some construction going on at the hotel so it was a bit noisy and one day, we woke up with workers on our balcony so opening the curtains and the door to the patio was out of the question. The staff was nice, but did not always give accurate info - they can't know everything! We loved Amsterdam and the price at Hotel Atlantis fit our budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed for four nights in in this small, simple and clean hotel on the edge of the central district of Amsterdam. It has a swath of really nice parks and streets with lots of restaurants, cafes and bars but hardly a tourist in sight as you go towards the very touristy centre. As others have said there is a good tram service nearby. The room was small and clean. The public areas of the hotel are very limited. I didn't take breakfast so I cant comment.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back if you do not want to hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice, clean and welcoming. Our room had a shared balcony, not realizing until late that evening but spoke to the hotel staff and were given a new room without any problems. A bit of a distance to walk from the town centre, but only 10 mins on the tram, which is 30 sec walk away.
Thank you for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#225 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#152 of 322 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#188 of 322 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ozo Hotel
#181 of 322 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#165 of 322 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#148 of 322 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Ceintuurbaan 215-217, 1074 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantis 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Budget Places, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.