We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and affordable hotel close to Amsterdam centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantis to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantis
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ceintuurbaan 215-217, 1074 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 327 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“comfortable and affordable hotel close to Amsterdam centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is situated not very far from city centre with very good tram connection. It is clean. The breakfast is fine. In my opinion, it is very good hotel with relatively friendly price (compare to other hotels in Amsterdam). I will definitely go back when visit Amsterdam again. You can rent a bicycle directly in hotel and I highly recommend to do so. It is best way how to travel in Amsterdam. If I had to find some negative I would say that the mattress was too soft.

Room Tip: Ask for room on fourth floor with window faxing the backyard, these rooms have small balcony. The ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Took us forever to find the hotel as it is situated on the longest road EVER! when we got there it was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful even letting us check in early for no extra charge! The room was a good size and it had a nice bathroom, there was a tiny window in an alcove in the ceiling so there was little natural light however the stay was extremely plesant. Quiet far out from the city centre but it's a nice walk if you don't mind exercise! Would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ6400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

1. Room - spacious and clean. Bed confortable.
2. Reception - very nice and helpfull - Thank you very much!
3. Food - a lot of stores around and bars too.
4. Tram - station just next to the hotel
A little bit far from cente. To walk is around 30-40 minutes.
However, walking you will discover this amazing city - Amsterdam.

P.S. Thank you to all who wrote reviews and tips - it is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Getting to it is easy enough, ten minute tram ride. A tad tedious when the main attractions are close to the train station but nothing to get in a fuss over.
This place was 55 euros a night so a little bit expensive than what I would have liked to pay but I certainly don't feel like we got ripped off. The room was huge. Very spacious, and certainly a lot more than two people needed. Reception was open 24 hours and the guy behind the desk was helpful. Their vending machine...so overpriced. The supermarket was extremely close.

Shower was good, shower gel, towels, linen were all provided so no problems there. Blackout curtains were awesome. We had decking but it was covered by scaffolds. Stairs are steep so use the elevator.

Wi-fi needs some work but it was stable for 70% of the time we were there.

I'd probably stay here again if they sorted out the internet connection and made it slightly cheaper. If they were resolved, I'd give 5 stars without a problem.

Room Tip: First floor was good. They all seem similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm fairly tolerant of hotels and have been more tolerant than the average person of bad places, but this place crosses the line on so many levels.

Firstly, the location is not good at all! It is in a place that feels very very unsafe and you can't help but feel you're going to get stabbed at night when you walk outside. Pay a little more and stay in the city and it will be well worth it. There were no food places once the sun went down so that just adds to the quality of the location.

Secondly, I payed for a double room and instead got a room with 4 single beds, a power socket in one spot in the corner of the room and stained paper thin walls.

Thirdly, they don't tell you this, but the hotel is currently in construction and doesn't look like it will be finished in the near future. Every morning you will be waken early by drilling and hammering. I even woke one morning to a builder peering through the window at me in bed.

Fourthly, the cleaning staff. I left the do not disturb sign on the door as I didn't want them to come in, but they still came in and didn't really clean much except fold he blankets on the bed and then LEAVE THE BALCONY DOOR OPEN WHICH IS SHARED BY OTHER ROOMS THAT CONNECT TO IT. So essentially the cleaner left my room unlocked and accessible to any person in the rooms connecting to the balcony to come in and take what ever they wanted. TOTALLY UNSAFE AND UNSECURE. The cleaner also just let herself in one morning while I was still in bed even though the do not disturb sign was on the door and then left once she realised. HOW IS THAT APPROPRIATE?

Finally, it was simply an unpleasant place with not even a printer available to guests. It was in an unsafe area that isn't at all central. I stayed here based on not terrible reviews, but it really was terrible. Do yourself a favour and don't stay here and pay only a tiny bit more for somewhere better and safer.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, stay somewhere a bit safer and closer. If you must stay here don't stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_ST1699CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked the hotel based on the positive reviews, but am not sure why there were more bad reviews for the hotel. Granted, the price is cheaper compared to the ones located in the city. However, my friend found a cute B&B located above the restaurant and it was way better and bigger and only 10euros more than what we paid for. And she was staying right in Nine Streets, an extremely nice area.

I have stayed in tinier rooms in Japan, and the size wasn't a big deal to me. However, what irks me was the following:
1) the glass in the shower was cracked, and we kept bumping into it as the shower area was extremely small with the curtains sticking into our wet skin when showering.

2) the shower drain was blocked. By the 4th day into the stay, it could no longer accept flowing water and after each shower our entire bathroom floor will be flooded.

3) Our towels and such were not changed for past 3 days. I'm all for eco, but when the floor is flooded resulting in us using the hand towels to soak up the water, they should have changed these into dry ones for us.

4) We forgot the room key and left it in the room. When we got back and told the night watchman about this and requested for a key to access our room, he made a new one for us without question. Now, what is wrong with this image? We were not asked for proof of identity nor the name for booking. This means that anyone can request for a room key from the reception.

5) I doubt the carpet was ever vacuumed. I keep finding hairs circling round the feet.

The only good thing out of this was that I spilled a glass of red wine onto the bed sheets and even though they did not change the sheets (as expected) they did not charged me for it either. Nevertheless, not a hotel I would consider going back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blockbusterjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#197 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#230 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#175 of 327 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#142 of 327 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#148 of 327 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#156 of 327 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Ceintuurbaan 215-217, 1074 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantis 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing