We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, out of the way but clean and friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlantis to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantis
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ceintuurbaan 215-217, 1074 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hard to find, out of the way but clean and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Took us forever to find the hotel as it is situated on the longest road EVER! when we got there it was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful even letting us check in early for no extra charge! The room was a good size and it had a nice bathroom, there was a tiny window in an alcove in the ceiling so there was little natural light however the stay was extremely plesant. Quiet far out from the city centre but it's a nice walk if you don't mind exercise! Would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    52
    44
    10
    17
See reviews for
7
60
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

1. Room - spacious and clean. Bed confortable.
2. Reception - very nice and helpfull - Thank you very much!
3. Food - a lot of stores around and bars too.
4. Tram - station just next to the hotel
A little bit far from cente. To walk is around 30-40 minutes.
However, walking you will discover this amazing city - Amsterdam.

P.S. Thank you to all who wrote reviews and tips - it is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Getting to it is easy enough, ten minute tram ride. A tad tedious when the main attractions are close to the train station but nothing to get in a fuss over.
This place was 55 euros a night so a little bit expensive than what I would have liked to pay but I certainly don't feel like we got ripped off. The room was huge. Very spacious, and certainly a lot more than two people needed. Reception was open 24 hours and the guy behind the desk was helpful. Their vending machine...so overpriced. The supermarket was extremely close.

Shower was good, shower gel, towels, linen were all provided so no problems there. Blackout curtains were awesome. We had decking but it was covered by scaffolds. Stairs are steep so use the elevator.

Wi-fi needs some work but it was stable for 70% of the time we were there.

I'd probably stay here again if they sorted out the internet connection and made it slightly cheaper. If they were resolved, I'd give 5 stars without a problem.

Room Tip: First floor was good. They all seem similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm fairly tolerant of hotels and have been more tolerant than the average person of bad places, but this place crosses the line on so many levels.

Firstly, the location is not good at all! It is in a place that feels very very unsafe and you can't help but feel you're going to get stabbed at night when you walk outside. Pay a little more and stay in the city and it will be well worth it. There were no food places once the sun went down so that just adds to the quality of the location.

Secondly, I payed for a double room and instead got a room with 4 single beds, a power socket in one spot in the corner of the room and stained paper thin walls.

Thirdly, they don't tell you this, but the hotel is currently in construction and doesn't look like it will be finished in the near future. Every morning you will be waken early by drilling and hammering. I even woke one morning to a builder peering through the window at me in bed.

Fourthly, the cleaning staff. I left the do not disturb sign on the door as I didn't want them to come in, but they still came in and didn't really clean much except fold he blankets on the bed and then LEAVE THE BALCONY DOOR OPEN WHICH IS SHARED BY OTHER ROOMS THAT CONNECT TO IT. So essentially the cleaner left my room unlocked and accessible to any person in the rooms connecting to the balcony to come in and take what ever they wanted. TOTALLY UNSAFE AND UNSECURE. The cleaner also just let herself in one morning while I was still in bed even though the do not disturb sign was on the door and then left once she realised. HOW IS THAT APPROPRIATE?

Finally, it was simply an unpleasant place with not even a printer available to guests. It was in an unsafe area that isn't at all central. I stayed here based on not terrible reviews, but it really was terrible. Do yourself a favour and don't stay here and pay only a tiny bit more for somewhere better and safer.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, stay somewhere a bit safer and closer. If you must stay here don't stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the hotel based on the positive reviews, but am not sure why there were more bad reviews for the hotel. Granted, the price is cheaper compared to the ones located in the city. However, my friend found a cute B&B located above the restaurant and it was way better and bigger and only 10euros more than what we paid for. And she was staying right in Nine Streets, an extremely nice area.

I have stayed in tinier rooms in Japan, and the size wasn't a big deal to me. However, what irks me was the following:
1) the glass in the shower was cracked, and we kept bumping into it as the shower area was extremely small with the curtains sticking into our wet skin when showering.

2) the shower drain was blocked. By the 4th day into the stay, it could no longer accept flowing water and after each shower our entire bathroom floor will be flooded.

3) Our towels and such were not changed for past 3 days. I'm all for eco, but when the floor is flooded resulting in us using the hand towels to soak up the water, they should have changed these into dry ones for us.

4) We forgot the room key and left it in the room. When we got back and told the night watchman about this and requested for a key to access our room, he made a new one for us without question. Now, what is wrong with this image? We were not asked for proof of identity nor the name for booking. This means that anyone can request for a room key from the reception.

5) I doubt the carpet was ever vacuumed. I keep finding hairs circling round the feet.

The only good thing out of this was that I spilled a glass of red wine onto the bed sheets and even though they did not change the sheets (as expected) they did not charged me for it either. Nevertheless, not a hotel I would consider going back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOOD RIDGE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Atlantis in Amsterdam. Indeed, the staff was friendly and helped us find a taxi to the airport (for 41 euros), but the person at check-in circled the wrong location for the hotel on the map he provided. The room was very small and musty, with a skeevy shag carpet that was stained with who-knows-what. There is no ventilation in the bathroom and no A/C in the hotel room. This would have been okay with the window open, but since our room was on the first floor, marijuana smoke and conversation bellowed into our room throughout the night. Early in the morning (on a weekend), we were awakened by painters in the courtyard, who started working at 7 AM, again interrupting our sleep. We barely slept a wink.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Ceintuurbaan 215-217, 1074 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantis 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.