We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves more credit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Atlantis
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ceintuurbaan 215-217, Amsterdam 1074 CV, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Deserves more credit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I looked at hundreds of hotels to match our budget but couldn't find anything suitable. However hotel Atlantis offered everything we needed for a long weekend.

Rooms
We paid £140 each for 3 nights sharing a twin room. The rooms are small and basic but were also modern and cosy. The beds were very soft but that was perfect after a busy day exploring. The shower wasn't very powerful but it was satisfactory. We also got a few English Tv channels in our room. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. But we didn't use since the cups were plastic! The walls were also a little thin and sometimes we could hear the cleaners in the morning. Didn't bother us too much though.

Customer Service
The daytime front of house staff were very helpful and one gentleman really went out of his way to resolve an unusual request we had. Even the cleaners stopped to say Hello.

Location
Set in a quieter part of the city, you are free from the late night party animal noise, but can travel to it easily if you want to, like we did! The number 3 tram stops right outside (which gets you to the Van Gogh museum) & a number 4 or 25 gets you to and from the centre. When the trams stop running at midnight, the hotel is very close to the night bus stop.

Although a little dubious upon arrival and booking, overall the hotel was better than expected and I would recommend to friends or couples wanting to explore the city. After all, who wants to spend their time in Amsterdam stuck in a hotel room!?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor. There's nobody above you so less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    30
    9
    12
See reviews for
6
45
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for four nights in this average hotel.
It was warm and clean, though the mattresses were too soft for me and gave me back pain.
Breakfast not included in price and it is cheaper to eat at one of the nearby restaurants and coffee houses.
Easy access to Dam Square, Damrak and Centraal Station on the frequent and cheap trams.
Very poor WiFi.
Staff were pleasant, but seemed not to know much about what was going on in the world around them.
Coffee was provided only sporadically in the bedroom, and they never left any milk with it at any time.
Nice bar (Bloemer's Café) 100 yards from hotel.

Room Tip: Very poor mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Cute small hotel. Tram sounds my be an issue for people who wants to sleep in silence, but not for me. Breakfast was pleasant surprise (I forgot about it), simple but tasty food. Very good location - about 1.5 kilometers from very center and about 300 meters from tram stop. Couple of restaurants near the hotel makes it very pleasant place to stay. No problems with water of wifi, receptionists are very responsive and ready to helps to find interesting places, I do not mean Red Square district =))
Oh, yes, one more "cons" - bed is very-very-VERY soft. It is too hard to wake up early.

Room Tip: Unless you want to hear "romatnic" tram's sounds (it may be quite loud) choose rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was nearest to a party we attended. I can honoustly say you can't get anything better at thice price. The hotel is near lots of A'dam hotspots and the centre is a short walk away. The rooms are very clean, the staff is helpful yet modest and also important: No other loud hotel-guests like in some popular hotels. Therefore this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The positives first :- The location is excellent. There are several tram lines in front of the hotel& the area has lots of restaurants and bars. The room was nice. The beds were really comfortable (or maybe we were too tired ;) ). The front desk service was friendly and lady at the front desk went the extra mile to help us get bookings for our sight seeing.

Negatives :- The rooms were the tiniest rooms that i have ever been in. So tiny that with 2 pieces of luggage in the room there was hardly any space for us to stand, leave alone move around, in the room. Every time someone needed to use the washroom we had to jump over our luggage to get there. The rooms are definitely not soundproof. We got a lot of noise from our neighbors. The are no power sockets in the room except for the one under the television. Actually they dont even have one where they have the team machine. so u have to move the water kettle over to the only socket in the room place it on the floor and heat the water for tea !!!! The hotel is right next to the tram lines so your will get all the rumbling sounds through the night and as soon as the trams start in the morning.

Overall, i recommend this hotel for people who intend to spend very little time in the hotel and as much time enjoying the city as possible (BTW, that's how it should be when you are in Amsterdam). if you are looking to turn in early and relax with a good nights sleep you might want to check other hotels in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location is good, there are several trams lines in front of the hotel, in less than 10 minutes you are at the city centre.
Also the area has lots of restaurants and bars.
The room was not big but nice and comfortable, we had a balcony, that is good for smokers.
We had some problems with the shower and the flush, but they immediatley solved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Ceintuurbaan 215-217, Amsterdam 1074 CV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.