We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good and 'strategic' location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milano
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good and 'strategic' location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

I enjoyed my staying in Amsterdam with my girlfriend at Rokin Hotel, it was very nice and comfortable both for the location and for the accomodation: very nice room, clean and comfortable to reach for the lift!!!Very very good the breakfast served!!!We didn't dine and so I can't give an advise about it.
The hotel is in the "real" city centre, 10 minutes walk from central station, 2 from Dam Square and 4 from Rembrandt Square, Flowers Market on the Singel canal. Then the tram stop is in front of the hotel!The location is in a very central and known street but at the same time very quiet, far from the "noises" of pubs, restaurants and people!Very kind the hotel staff!!!

  • Liked — Position and cleaness
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    107
    71
    20
    7
See reviews for
18
90
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

I travelled to Amsterdam for 3 nights with my friend to celebrate our 40th birthdays.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is excellent - 10 minutes walk from Central Station and 5 minutes from Dam Square and the Red Light district, however it is not noisy and we felt safe.

Don't be put-off by first appearances. There are lots of cranes and building work on the road - its not pretty -but there was no evidence of any work going on during our visit, however, it was ridiculously hot so maybe they were having a rest! There are lots of "interesting" adult shops nearby, loads selling tourist tat but there are also some really good shopping areas all within walking distance of the hotel.Try turning left out of the hotel for a change of scenery.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and provides a good breakfast. Our room was on the ground floor and at the back. We had a view of the wall of the next building, however, it was quiet and cool which was fantastic as the temperature soared. The room had a safe (no charge) ,hairdryer, TV and phone and was very clean and comfortable. The towels were changed every day and a much appreciated electric fan was provided, again no charge. The hotel has 24 hour reception service and felt very safe.

We had a great weekend in this lively, bustling city. You can immerse yourself in the art and culture or you can have a lot of fun, eating, shoppng, drinking and watching the world go by. Don't expect to come back rested but for a good time it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boadilla del Monte, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

Hi All,
This little hotel was a surprise, 300 metres from Dam Square, in front of a TRAM/Bus Stop, in a typical building (With wooden beams in the rooms). My previous hotel in Amsterdam was NH Krasnapolsky (Twice) but, in the future I will prefer Rokin Hotel (Almost Half Price).
The most incredible was the breakfast, absolutely wonderful, even better than other 4**** hotels. The cook is pending to serve the buffet and you can see the kitchen from your desk (Such as your own home).
Definitively, very recommendable for spend a weekend in Amsterdam.
PROS: Price, Location, Breakfast, a real amsterdam building.
CONS: Not wheelchair suitable, Noisy (Public Works in front of the hotel -March2006-). Beds.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

I stayed in Rokin for three nights with my sister. We really liked the hotel! The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very very friendly and helpful. The room was pretty small but nice and it was cleaned every day. Our plane left late at night and it was possible to leave the luggage into the hotel for the day so we didn't have to take our luggage with us to the city.
The location is awesome, right next to the Dam square! There is also a really nice shopping street close to the hotel and the Flower Market is not too far away either.
The only bad thing was the noise of the front street. It would be better to ask for room on back of hotel. Although it didn't bother us too much.
If you are looking for a nice small hotel with friendly staff and good price, you should go for it!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2006

The very first time we arrived at rokin, we were met by friendly helpfull staff. They booked us in and although our rooms were not ready they alowed us to stash our luggage for a few hours while we went and had breakfast at barneys coffee shop (expensive but DO try the sweet-tooth and silver pearl haze)
The first morning we awoke there, we were a bit knackered and went downstairs into the breakfast bar to be told that they had finished serving brekky , i checked my watch and said, its only 9am, brekky is till 10am. No, we were told, it was indeed 10am. And they were correct. I had forgot to alter my watch to make up for the time difference. SO THEY MADE US BREAKFAST!!!!!!!
That kind of service is rare. So rare in fact that for the past 6 years ( we leave tommorow for our 2006 trip) that we book the Rokin hotel EVERY year. We dont bother trying to locate somewhere else. We go there....End of discussion.
Last year, we were put into a small room that was a bit cold but clean and tidy. En-suite and out of the way as we smoke in our room. They either A: dont know, B: dont care or C: respect the fact that we respect them and the other guests and dont act like muppets. The result is the same, a pleasant trip every year. Not the cheapest hotel but the very very first time we visited the 'Dam, we went through a travel agent and ended up in a flea-pit. I wouldnt have put a dog in that room. The year after we swore we would book the entire holiday ourselves and we did. The Rokin is a cracking little hotel (we first visited when it was essentially a 2* B&B. Close to dam sqaure, has a smashing little off-licence called "Cave rokin" accross the road and helpful friendly staff. 8-10 in my book and thats pretty high praise from me. Cornz, a grumpy old man.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CA USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

This little canal house hotel is a jewel. If you want a small inexpensive and very clean hotel, this is it. The rates including breakfast can't be beat. This is basic accommodations, no frills, with a great location within walking distance of everything. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

I can't rate this hotel high enough from cleanliness, to being so central to the city its perfect if you want cheap and cheerful.
Rooms are small but all you're doing in them is sleeping in them and they're soooo clean.
Most trams pass outside the hotel so you can access any tourist attraction by jumping on one down to the Central station and transferring. Its soo easy.
Room rates are very reasonable which also includes breakfast served up to 10.30am

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.