We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
worksop
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

a fantastic little hotel ,centrally located for all the major attractions
Amsterdam is a great city ,there is a lot more to it than the red light district and coffee houses
the hotel was clean and the beds where as well
the staff all spoke English and the breakfast was good
the only two things I did lot like were the stairs down to the breakfast room and the hotel did not have a bar
may I recommend that you go to the Rembrandt square area for lunch and evening meals
(a 5 minuet walk at most)
and parking is available at the nearby hotel rho

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    127
    86
    23
    7
See reviews for
20
106
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Evi, Greece.
I went there with my partner during the New Year holidays 2008. Thanks to Trip Advisor review, we booked a room at the back of the hotel and NOT on the ground floor or the front.
When we arrived, our first impression of the reception hall was excellent until we got to our room. It was frozen! Temperatures outside were below zero and we were very disappointed.
We immediately complained at the reception and they offered to give us more blankets!!! They said that they were going to send somebody to check it the next morning!
The room itself had only ONE radiator but NO HEATING at all in the bathroom. We were told that no bathroom in the hotel had a radiator!The radiator in the room hadn't been turned on for days. Eventually it became habitable 2 days later.
Other than, the hotel was an excellent choice, very well located, really central and we didn't have to take any means of transport to see all the sites.
It was very clean although the blankets were really worn out.
I believe that we got our money's worth and I would definitely recommend it .
If you decide to book, just ask them to turn on the heating before you get there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room heating
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTSMOUTH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Due to a conference going on in Amsterdam, I found it very difficult to find hotel availability, for our dates. The Rokin, was the last room I could get, so we hoped it would be ok. It was our first time in Amsterdam. On our arrival, we followed the instructions previously given to us. We walked straight ahead from Central Station, through Dam Square, straight on, and we found the hotel a few minutes later (on the left hand side). It is so well located for sightseeing, and amenities. We observed the construction work, going on outside the hotel (this site had already warned us). We checked in without any problem. I had previously emailed the hotel, to ask for a room at the back, which we were given. The work outside wasn't a problem to us. We liked the bedroom and shower room, which was better than we thought it would be. Small, as you would expect in Amsterdam, but very clean. The breakfast is really really nice (yes, i did mean to say "really" twice!) A nice choice of buffet, there was a lovely lady on duty (sorry, we didn't get her name). She kindly cooked fried eggs for us, even though they aren't usually on the menu. (You were lovely, thank you!) The breakfast room is in the basement, and it is so clean, bright and homely !! The kitchen is attached, and also very clean. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and recommend that others do too. We loved Amsterdam, our visit to Anne Franks house, was a very moving one. The canals and houses were beautiful. This wonderful City is very diverse, with a vibrant atmosphere, and everyone speaks English so well !!

  • Liked — BREAKFAST AND LOCATION
  • Disliked — NO LIFT TO THE BREAKFAST ROOM, SO UNSUITABLE FOR DISABLED TRAVELLERS
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

23/24 June 2008. My husband and I were quite impressed by the Rokin Hotel. Having booked a fairly low budget place to stay, we found it to be very friendly, our room was spotless and comfortable (although quite small) and very well supplied buffet breakfast included.

If you are booking in the near future you need to ensure that you have a room at the back of the hotel as there are major works going on at the front for the tunnelling of a new metro system.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton Manchester
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

My husband & I came back to Rokin after 3 years... not much has changed. The roadworks are STILL going on, (and apparently will be for a few more years) but as it was weekend we thought it should be relatively quiet... we were put in the basement - ok so far... right by the steps to the entrance of the hotel - still not too much of a problem - just keep the curtains closed... the side window didn't close properly so it was a bit draughty and those curtains HAD to stay closed.. We thought everything was ok unitl 6.30 on our first morning - it seems the generator for the central heating was right by our room in the alley. (Still not complaining... ) Then on Monday morning the roadworks start at 7am.... not good. We didn't get any noise on our last trip there as we were at the back of the hotel.. My advice is if you're staying at the Rokin in the near future stay out of the basement or the front of the hotel. Nothing else to groan about - shower and bathroom - perfect, with hot water whenever needed. Hotel staff - very polite and helpful. Breakfasts - better than expected. A lovely clean hotel (albeit noisy) in a great location. The only major problem is that as from 16th March this year (2008) this is now a NO SMOKING hotel which, for me, is worse than any noisy roadworks or central heating generator

  • Liked — Familiarity - been before
  • Disliked — The room - the noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

This is the second time I have stayed at the Rokin, and on this occasion I would say it was worse. I fully understand that this hotel is in a very good location, and that hotels in Amsterdam are generally quite expensive.

But this hotel is really too pricey for what you get. And on this occasion, we got a bathroom that smelt of blocked drains most of the time (potentially acknowledged by staff whom kept leaving the skylight opening during cleaning the room to get some fresh air circulating), we got pillow cases with holes, and pretty threadbare towels. The room was cleaned to a high standard however throughout the time we stayed there.

The breakfast was barely satisfactory at best, and our last morning, we asked for a taxi to take us to Schipol airport. I know that taxi fares are unregulated in Amsterdam, but to have links with a taxi firm that charges up to £40 for a one way run to Schipol is not the best way to keep customers happy - a kindly warning on fare charging might have been helpful? Generally however, staff were approachable during our stay.

Overall, NOT worth over £100 sterling A NIGHT! A shame, as given the location, a few changes to current practice would make this hotel ideal.........................and justify the prices charged.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

The rokin hotel has an excellent location near Dam square. The rooms are a good size and breakfast was included. Out stay was OK, but we found the front desk staff to be unhelpful. Our room (10) had a view of a flat roof and when we asked for a better view, he just said we are fully booked in an unhelpful manner. Addtionally we had mosquito's in our room which bit me and my wife on our first night. I've been to Amsterdam numerous times in the past, but have never seen Mosquito's there!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.