We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lovely hotel ,with a good breakfast included,
hotel room was a little small and quite dated but it was clean and tidy with a tv and wireless so all in all pretty good value.
The hotel has no bar and we didn't know if we could get a drink after hours aside from the vending machine but when we checked out we did notice a small maybe self service kitchen by the foyer ?
Great location amazing price and a good breakfast.
We would definitely come back :-)

Room Tip: Choose a room thats not on the top floor ,as the stairs are steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    141
    91
    23
    7
See reviews for
21
113
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

There are really friendly staff in the hotel - thank them very much!
Location is brilliant, no complaint! 10 min to the Central station, tram station is really close, good Food plaza nearby (open every day till 22 - delicious fruits and salads).
Rooms could be improved by changing furniture and bed-clothes. We had 2 rooms - one on the 3 floor and one in basement. Basement is not good, but room is big and there is bath not shower. But in general basement is worse than attic, maybe because of our personal perception. If you are ok with this - choose it than upper floor, but be worry about terrible head of water there.
Nevertheless - Rokin is a good one for excursion and self-studying of the Amsterdam and surroundings.

Room Tip: Even if you are lucky and get back rooms, there will be nosy becuse of bars everywhere around the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed in this hotel a long time ago when I was last in Amsterdam. It's been renovated since then and they've done a good job.

The main selling point is it's great location. It's handy for everywhere and everything. It's a 10 minute walk down the Rokin (the street the hotel's named after) from Centraal Station. In fact, as Amsterdam is a fairly compact city it's easy to walk everywhere (saving money on trams, taxis and busses) from this hotel - even places as far afield as the Museum District in the south of the city are only half an hour's walk from here.

The room we had was 47 (the one featured on the website) and was on the top floor. Be warned though, the lift only goes as far as the 3rd floor and the stairs are very windy.

The room was good and clean and we were given a fan to cool the room down as it was pretty humid. However, even though we were at the back away from the main thoroughfare it was still noisy at night. Also, there was little in the way for storage space...a tiny little waist height wardrobe and no drawers for clothes.

Bathroom was fine and the breakfast was good and the breakfast room very pleasant.

Free wi-fi with no problems accessing it.

When I return to Amsterdam I'd be happy to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is nicely located, within minutes to some pleasant restaurants and in walking distance to most of the site seeing points in Amsterdam.
But the room leaves a lot to be desired. My room faces the main street but the window doesn't close properly. That there's a lot of street work going on adds to the aggrevation. The shower has a mind of its own and provides hot and cold water as it pleases. (Can't imagine if it is winter.)

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is generous.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location. The breakfast was OK, but accessed via some small winding wooden stairs that would not be very good if you were unsteady on your feet. Nice touch to have a free safe in each room. We had 2 rooms through our booking - both had clean bedding and towels, but there was a lot of dust on the furniture. Other than that the hotel was clean. Small selection of toiletries provided. Although the hotel is supposed to be "no smoking", the room I stayed in had a smell of stale smoke and there were lots of abandoned cigarette tabs on the flat roof outside the window. The walls are paper thin, so don't expect to get a good night's sleep if you have inconsiderate neighbours like I did. No bedside table in the single room I had - difficult if you like to read in bed. Overpriced hotel for what you get. Reception staff were friendly enough when passing through and it was nice to be able to store luggage securely on arrival/departure day. Disappointing not to be asked if we'd had a nice stay and whether we would be returning for another stay when we checked out. Would stay again as a last resort if other hotels booked up.

Room Tip: Avoid single room 19 at all costs, it is small, dark and depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is excellent.Close to almost all interest points of Amsterdam as historical,shopping,night life, restaurants ,cafes and squares.Extremely helpful staff at reception.Breakast is quite good for a 3-star budget hotel.Tram is only two minutes if you don't want to walk and so can reach all areas. Clean as well.And the hotel has the elevator which is hard to find in the most of the hotels similar in Amsterdam.But the elevator does not go some of the rooms and so you should ask during reservation.I would recommend anybody wants to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel itself is set out quite strangely, our room no 40 was at the top of a windy staircase however the location was great, the staff were all really helpful, breakfast was plentiful. I would definitely come back again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#145 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#199 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#133 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#208 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#165 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.