We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed in this hotel a long time ago when I was last in Amsterdam. It's been renovated since then and they've done a good job.

The main selling point is it's great location. It's handy for everywhere and everything. It's a 10 minute walk down the Rokin (the street the hotel's named after) from Centraal Station. In fact, as Amsterdam is a fairly compact city it's easy to walk everywhere (saving money on trams, taxis and busses) from this hotel - even places as far afield as the Museum District in the south of the city are only half an hour's walk from here.

The room we had was 47 (the one featured on the website) and was on the top floor. Be warned though, the lift only goes as far as the 3rd floor and the stairs are very windy.

The room was good and clean and we were given a fan to cool the room down as it was pretty humid. However, even though we were at the back away from the main thoroughfare it was still noisy at night. Also, there was little in the way for storage space...a tiny little waist height wardrobe and no drawers for clothes.

Bathroom was fine and the breakfast was good and the breakfast room very pleasant.

Free wi-fi with no problems accessing it.

When I return to Amsterdam I'd be happy to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    101
    67
    18
    6
See reviews for
17
84
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nicely located, within minutes to some pleasant restaurants and in walking distance to most of the site seeing points in Amsterdam.
But the room leaves a lot to be desired. My room faces the main street but the window doesn't close properly. That there's a lot of street work going on adds to the aggrevation. The shower has a mind of its own and provides hot and cold water as it pleases. (Can't imagine if it is winter.)

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is generous.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location. The breakfast was OK, but accessed via some small winding wooden stairs that would not be very good if you were unsteady on your feet. Nice touch to have a free safe in each room. We had 2 rooms through our booking - both had clean bedding and towels, but there was a lot of dust on the furniture. Other than that the hotel was clean. Small selection of toiletries provided. Although the hotel is supposed to be "no smoking", the room I stayed in had a smell of stale smoke and there were lots of abandoned cigarette tabs on the flat roof outside the window. The walls are paper thin, so don't expect to get a good night's sleep if you have inconsiderate neighbours like I did. No bedside table in the single room I had - difficult if you like to read in bed. Overpriced hotel for what you get. Reception staff were friendly enough when passing through and it was nice to be able to store luggage securely on arrival/departure day. Disappointing not to be asked if we'd had a nice stay and whether we would be returning for another stay when we checked out. Would stay again as a last resort if other hotels booked up.

Room Tip: Avoid single room 19 at all costs, it is small, dark and depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is excellent.Close to almost all interest points of Amsterdam as historical,shopping,night life, restaurants ,cafes and squares.Extremely helpful staff at reception.Breakast is quite good for a 3-star budget hotel.Tram is only two minutes if you don't want to walk and so can reach all areas. Clean as well.And the hotel has the elevator which is hard to find in the most of the hotels similar in Amsterdam.But the elevator does not go some of the rooms and so you should ask during reservation.I would recommend anybody wants to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel itself is set out quite strangely, our room no 40 was at the top of a windy staircase however the location was great, the staff were all really helpful, breakfast was plentiful. I would definitely come back again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location of 'Rokin' is possibly the greatest asset of this hotel. In the early June this year the city of Amsterdam was full of visitors, so the price of the hotels went up accordingly. It was quite expensive in comparison to the hotel rooms of similar standard in some other nearby cities. The room was small but clean and they provided a table fan as weather was very warm. As the hotel is located very close to central station and some of the major tourist attractions of the city, one can easily walk through the streets to discover many places of interest. 'Anna Frank House' is also located at a walking distance. Choice of breakfast was good for a short stay. I stayed in a road side room but it was not that noisy to disturb good sleep. Everything was alright there except the reception. All the men sitting in the front desk were rather exhausted or may be tired to reply any question. They were not rude but not enough polite to talk to a newcomer in the city. However, the lady in the morning shift was quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went for Kings Day, the location was perfect, we went everywhere around the city on foot. There is work going on outside the hotel but as it was a public holiday when we were there, the road was closed, so I can't comment on the noise but the windows are only single glazed.
Our room was a decent size for a city hotel of similar price. The staff were helpful and friendly.
The only negative was, our window looked out onto a brick wall. We had to practically hang out of the window to see what the weather was like. We did ask to move but the hotel was fully booked.
I would recommend this hotel if you're wanting something central, clean and competitive price. It's about a 10 minute walk from central station. Breakfast had a good choice, just had to get down the spiral staircase to it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.