We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is excellent.Close to almost all interest points of Amsterdam as historical,shopping,night life, restaurants ,cafes and squares.Extremely helpful staff at reception.Breakast is quite good for a 3-star budget hotel.Tram is only two minutes if you don't want to walk and so can reach all areas. Clean as well.And the hotel has the elevator which is hard to find in the most of the hotels similar in Amsterdam.But the elevator does not go some of the rooms and so you should ask during reservation.I would recommend anybody wants to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    94
    66
    16
    6
See reviews for
17
79
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is set out quite strangely, our room no 40 was at the top of a windy staircase however the location was great, the staff were all really helpful, breakfast was plentiful. I would definitely come back again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location of 'Rokin' is possibly the greatest asset of this hotel. In the early June this year the city of Amsterdam was full of visitors, so the price of the hotels went up accordingly. It was quite expensive in comparison to the hotel rooms of similar standard in some other nearby cities. The room was small but clean and they provided a table fan as weather was very warm. As the hotel is located very close to central station and some of the major tourist attractions of the city, one can easily walk through the streets to discover many places of interest. 'Anna Frank House' is also located at a walking distance. Choice of breakfast was good for a short stay. I stayed in a road side room but it was not that noisy to disturb good sleep. Everything was alright there except the reception. All the men sitting in the front desk were rather exhausted or may be tired to reply any question. They were not rude but not enough polite to talk to a newcomer in the city. However, the lady in the morning shift was quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went for Kings Day, the location was perfect, we went everywhere around the city on foot. There is work going on outside the hotel but as it was a public holiday when we were there, the road was closed, so I can't comment on the noise but the windows are only single glazed.
Our room was a decent size for a city hotel of similar price. The staff were helpful and friendly.
The only negative was, our window looked out onto a brick wall. We had to practically hang out of the window to see what the weather was like. We did ask to move but the hotel was fully booked.
I would recommend this hotel if you're wanting something central, clean and competitive price. It's about a 10 minute walk from central station. Breakfast had a good choice, just had to get down the spiral staircase to it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were in Amsterdam for Easter weekend (which was packed and extra expensive) and stayed at the Hotel Rokin for the first time. It was in a great location for sight-seeing, close to lots of restaurants and easy to access from the tram. The room was cute - small, but with charm and all of the basics. Our room faced the back so it was quieter. In the front of the hotel were nice cafes to sit in the sun for drinks and relax after all the walking/bike riding!
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Out of the Centraal Station and follow the trams slightly to your left past the Hotel Victoria. You can take a tram going down Damstraat to the second stop which is slightly past the hotel which is on the left hand side of Rokin a continuation of Damstraat. It is only a ten minuet walk but is cobbles all the ay which will give the wheels on your case a good bashing.
The hotel is an old building and It has six steps up to the entrance, no joke if your case is heavy
The staff all spoke English and were very helpful.
My room (25) was on the second floor and was not double glazed. There are two bars next door and they close about 3 in the morning with a lot of shouting and singing there after, The new metro line being built is in front of the hotel and workmen start early, I got little sleep- why do the police need two-tone horns in the middle of the night?
Breakfast does not start until 7:30 and there is a spiral staircase to be negotiated to get to it. The selection of food was good.
The hotel will recommend the Restaurant Haesje Claes and give you instructions how to find it, it is realey good but is very popular so book, the hotel will do it and you can book for following nights at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Only use this hotel if you don't need to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Well where do I start, I am a very light sleeper at the best of times, but to awoken at 1am in the morning by a constant Bang Bang Bang was more than I could bear. I got my coat on and went down to the reception, the night duty manager said they were working on the metro line, "what at this time in the morning?" he asked me what room I was staying in and I said 39 to which he replied it was at the back and one of the quietest. I then visited another 3 hotel rooms to see if they were any quieter (none were!!), talk about feeling like Alex Polizzi off the hotel inspector!! ( I can laugh about it now!). I returned to my room no further forward. The staff were friendly, hotel room basic but had all the essentials. Its ideal for being central to everything. Breakfast the next morning was ok too. Would recommend avoiding Rokin Street until the metro line is finished (could be Summer!). If a brass band doesn't wake ya when sleeping then by all means stay at the Rokin Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 39 is at the back and should be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.