We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Cheap(er) and Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Darmstadt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cute, Cheap(er) and Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were in Amsterdam for Easter weekend (which was packed and extra expensive) and stayed at the Hotel Rokin for the first time. It was in a great location for sight-seeing, close to lots of restaurants and easy to access from the tram. The room was cute - small, but with charm and all of the basics. Our room faced the back so it was quieter. In the front of the hotel were nice cafes to sit in the sun for drinks and relax after all the walking/bike riding!
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    98
    67
    18
    6
See reviews for
17
83
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Out of the Centraal Station and follow the trams slightly to your left past the Hotel Victoria. You can take a tram going down Damstraat to the second stop which is slightly past the hotel which is on the left hand side of Rokin a continuation of Damstraat. It is only a ten minuet walk but is cobbles all the ay which will give the wheels on your case a good bashing.
The hotel is an old building and It has six steps up to the entrance, no joke if your case is heavy
The staff all spoke English and were very helpful.
My room (25) was on the second floor and was not double glazed. There are two bars next door and they close about 3 in the morning with a lot of shouting and singing there after, The new metro line being built is in front of the hotel and workmen start early, I got little sleep- why do the police need two-tone horns in the middle of the night?
Breakfast does not start until 7:30 and there is a spiral staircase to be negotiated to get to it. The selection of food was good.
The hotel will recommend the Restaurant Haesje Claes and give you instructions how to find it, it is realey good but is very popular so book, the hotel will do it and you can book for following nights at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Only use this hotel if you don't need to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Well where do I start, I am a very light sleeper at the best of times, but to awoken at 1am in the morning by a constant Bang Bang Bang was more than I could bear. I got my coat on and went down to the reception, the night duty manager said they were working on the metro line, "what at this time in the morning?" he asked me what room I was staying in and I said 39 to which he replied it was at the back and one of the quietest. I then visited another 3 hotel rooms to see if they were any quieter (none were!!), talk about feeling like Alex Polizzi off the hotel inspector!! ( I can laugh about it now!). I returned to my room no further forward. The staff were friendly, hotel room basic but had all the essentials. Its ideal for being central to everything. Breakfast the next morning was ok too. Would recommend avoiding Rokin Street until the metro line is finished (could be Summer!). If a brass band doesn't wake ya when sleeping then by all means stay at the Rokin Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 39 is at the back and should be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked here for 4 days and was very nervous as it was one of the cheapest hotels in the area that included breakfast. We had read some bad reviews so didn't quite know what to expect. Hotel was extremely clean, rooms were lovely with nice exposed beams in the ceiling and yet had a modern feel to them. The bed was comfortable although the pillow was a little hard. Breakfast was 10 out of 10, everything you could think of, pancakes, toast, fruit, cereal, bacon, eggs etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful and location was perfect. Would stay again for sure. Thank you hotel rokin!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It started OK with a nicely refurbished lounge and friendly staff. The single room however was small, the bed was a bit narrow and leaning outwards. The most disturbing thing was the noise from outside. People, cars,trams. I think its better to invest in double glass windows in such a noisy street. Breakfast room and breakfast was good. Very central hotel.

Room Tip: not rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I made my reservation weeks ago via booking.com... I specially indicated higher floor request. They gave us the room on the ground floor which was extremely noisy. Sleeping was impossible....

Pros: location... Thats it..
Cons: lack of hospitality & hotel mngt.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A good hotel for a short visit. We stayed there for one night. A small hotel. the room for three was ok. Silent and we slept well. But the standard was not good. The breakfast was ok but not much more. Clean and not expensive but most valuable was the location. Very well located. Central and easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.