We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Akureyri, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A good hotel for a short visit. We stayed there for one night. A small hotel. the room for three was ok. Silent and we slept well. But the standard was not good. The breakfast was ok but not much more. Clean and not expensive but most valuable was the location. Very well located. Central and easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    118
    81
    20
    7
See reviews for
20
95
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in Rokin for a long weekend. The location is great, partly noisy, but not disturbing. The rooms are in need for some improvements (TV did not work, but didn't miss it), but overall a clean place. Breakfast was enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent the 2nd week of November is my favorite hotel in Amsterdam as I have been here several times before (5 times since 2010). Clean and friendly hotel which can be booked online via their website (and as it states online they do give a discount if you book in advance). Met by friendly staff who will assist any tourists with querries about Amsterdam. Rooms although basic are comfortable and very clean and come with a safe which you don't have to pay for.

Breakfast consists of a wide variety of produce from fresh fruits & breads, etc to scrambled eggs, bacon bits, hotcakes, etc so they do cater for most peoples tastes. (too many items to list as to what they stock) and unlike 'other hotels' breakfast is included in the booking fee.

Location wise: this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Central station (just past Dam Square) and the flower markets are another few minutes stroll just south of hotel. Most shopping areas are within easy reach by foot from this hotel: from Waterloo flea market, to Rembrandt Square, Kalverstraat (main shopping street) to Museum quarters (and including Redlight district, just don't have cameras on view here).

Although check out is 11am, they do offer a (locked) luggage storage room in which you can leave your cases if your flight is not due until later in the day.

I will definitely be back here next Summer :)

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have a view of the Rokin (street) but can be noisier due to traffic (and cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed one night and I chose this hotel for location and decent reviews. Room was a nice roof top single, Cinderella style, with a nice wood log view from the bed. Room was clean enough (I wonder why the night lamp is dusty, which is something we guests always notice). Issues: noise from the street and mini sink I could not properly wash my hand, shower also not ok, with tent and your feet on the bare floor. For these two reasons I would not return. Breakfast was included and very nice, in a basement roon which is well kept.

Room Tip: ask if they have renovated bathrooms, ask if they have quiet rooms not facing Rokin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great location with the hotel 10 minutes walk from central station. Small basic clean rooms with a breakfast as would be expected with the price.
Only major gripe would be the horrendous bed!! Ended up sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the worst hotel I've ever been in... Truth it's location is just perfect but the elevator only goes to 3rd floor so you need to carry up your baggage through a tiny stairs to your room, the room was freezing as they do not turn on the heater (only one) for you, the old man in the recepcion is one of the meanest and rudest persons I have ever met in my life!!! We were stucked in a museum becuse of the heavy rain so we called to tell them we were going to check out a bit later (only half an hour of delay) and when we got to the hotel he started shouting at us and insulting us.. When we aske for the complaint forms because of his rudeness he sais they didn't have that an that we were not entitled to complain if we were late... So in fact the rain was our fault!!!! Unbelievable!!! I do not recommend this hotel AT ALL!! Even though it is very near from Dam Square...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October 2013. We booked single rooms and were given rooms on the fourth floor. The lift goes to the third floor then there is a tight winding staircase to climb with your luggage to the top floor. Luckily our luggage was quite small and we are relatively fit so it wasn't too difficult but it could have been difficult for more elderly travellers or people with more luggage. The location was great - ten minutes walk from central station and close to restaurants and bars. The room was small but okay. Breakfast was good value and food was better than average. Highlights were bacon, scrambled eggs and freshly made waffles. Coffee was very good too and you could make your own mocha by adding some of the hot chocolate! Staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room below the top floor (4th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.