We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent the 2nd week of November is my favorite hotel in Amsterdam as I have been here several times before (5 times since 2010). Clean and friendly hotel which can be booked online via their website (and as it states online they do give a discount if you book in advance). Met by friendly staff who will assist any tourists with querries about Amsterdam. Rooms although basic are comfortable and very clean and come with a safe which you don't have to pay for.

Breakfast consists of a wide variety of produce from fresh fruits & breads, etc to scrambled eggs, bacon bits, hotcakes, etc so they do cater for most peoples tastes. (too many items to list as to what they stock) and unlike 'other hotels' breakfast is included in the booking fee.

Location wise: this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Central station (just past Dam Square) and the flower markets are another few minutes stroll just south of hotel. Most shopping areas are within easy reach by foot from this hotel: from Waterloo flea market, to Rembrandt Square, Kalverstraat (main shopping street) to Museum quarters (and including Redlight district, just don't have cameras on view here).

Although check out is 11am, they do offer a (locked) luggage storage room in which you can leave your cases if your flight is not due until later in the day.

I will definitely be back here next Summer :)

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have a view of the Rokin (street) but can be noisier due to traffic (and cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    120
    82
    23
    7
See reviews for
20
98
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed one night and I chose this hotel for location and decent reviews. Room was a nice roof top single, Cinderella style, with a nice wood log view from the bed. Room was clean enough (I wonder why the night lamp is dusty, which is something we guests always notice). Issues: noise from the street and mini sink I could not properly wash my hand, shower also not ok, with tent and your feet on the bare floor. For these two reasons I would not return. Breakfast was included and very nice, in a basement roon which is well kept.

Room Tip: ask if they have renovated bathrooms, ask if they have quiet rooms not facing Rokin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great location with the hotel 10 minutes walk from central station. Small basic clean rooms with a breakfast as would be expected with the price.
Only major gripe would be the horrendous bed!! Ended up sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the worst hotel I've ever been in... Truth it's location is just perfect but the elevator only goes to 3rd floor so you need to carry up your baggage through a tiny stairs to your room, the room was freezing as they do not turn on the heater (only one) for you, the old man in the recepcion is one of the meanest and rudest persons I have ever met in my life!!! We were stucked in a museum becuse of the heavy rain so we called to tell them we were going to check out a bit later (only half an hour of delay) and when we got to the hotel he started shouting at us and insulting us.. When we aske for the complaint forms because of his rudeness he sais they didn't have that an that we were not entitled to complain if we were late... So in fact the rain was our fault!!!! Unbelievable!!! I do not recommend this hotel AT ALL!! Even though it is very near from Dam Square...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October 2013. We booked single rooms and were given rooms on the fourth floor. The lift goes to the third floor then there is a tight winding staircase to climb with your luggage to the top floor. Luckily our luggage was quite small and we are relatively fit so it wasn't too difficult but it could have been difficult for more elderly travellers or people with more luggage. The location was great - ten minutes walk from central station and close to restaurants and bars. The room was small but okay. Breakfast was good value and food was better than average. Highlights were bacon, scrambled eggs and freshly made waffles. Coffee was very good too and you could make your own mocha by adding some of the hot chocolate! Staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room below the top floor (4th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Rokin in October in a single room for two nights. The main reason why I chose this hotel is because of the price relative to its location. It's a short walk to Dam square and Central Station, with trams nearby.

The room was clean but quite dark, even with all of the lights and lamps turned on. I had a room facing the main street, and the street noise came through quite clearly. There was some construction work going on when I was there, although only on weekdays.

There was no proper shower cubicle, just a curtain that you pull around to enclose a corner of the bathroom. It was less messy than I expected, and not much water went around the bathroom floor.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Although for some odd reason the housekeeper folded my pjs and put them *underneath* the pillow. It took me a while to find them.

If you're looking for an affordable and convenient hotel, Hotel Rokin could meet your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Hotel Rokin and was very happy with everything.The hotel is just 150yds from Dam square and is walkable from central station.A nice breakfast is served (bread,toast,scrambled eggs,bacon,smoked salmon,pancakes cerials etc) and staff are very good. Although no coffee in the room if you ask at reception they will make you a cup.
There is work going on outside on the Metro system which doesn't seem to be happening at the weekend.They do however start very early during the week with the sounds of banging and crane moving an initial problem but you kinda get used to it.Anyway you need to get up and have breakfast and then get out and explore this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsNL so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.