We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent and reasonably priced hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A decent and reasonably priced hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Rokin in October in a single room for two nights. The main reason why I chose this hotel is because of the price relative to its location. It's a short walk to Dam square and Central Station, with trams nearby.

The room was clean but quite dark, even with all of the lights and lamps turned on. I had a room facing the main street, and the street noise came through quite clearly. There was some construction work going on when I was there, although only on weekdays.

There was no proper shower cubicle, just a curtain that you pull around to enclose a corner of the bathroom. It was less messy than I expected, and not much water went around the bathroom floor.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Although for some odd reason the housekeeper folded my pjs and put them *underneath* the pillow. It took me a while to find them.

If you're looking for an affordable and convenient hotel, Hotel Rokin could meet your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    93
    66
    16
    6
See reviews for
17
78
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Hotel Rokin and was very happy with everything.The hotel is just 150yds from Dam square and is walkable from central station.A nice breakfast is served (bread,toast,scrambled eggs,bacon,smoked salmon,pancakes cerials etc) and staff are very good. Although no coffee in the room if you ask at reception they will make you a cup.
There is work going on outside on the Metro system which doesn't seem to be happening at the weekend.They do however start very early during the week with the sounds of banging and crane moving an initial problem but you kinda get used to it.Anyway you need to get up and have breakfast and then get out and explore this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Rokin hotel was very clean and staff made our stay so good!!!
Close to Dam Square and major attraction.Buffet breakfast included in price was wonderful..
Price was very reasonable .....staff on duty at all times and ask frequently if out stay was satisfactory....would highly recommend ....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a last minute find and hotel triples were selling out fast. We were very happy with this little hotel. It is one block from Dam Square and within walking distance to most everything else. It was exceptionally clean and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, pancakes. Our triple room was at the rear of the building and was very quiet. Plenty of space. The weather was hot but the room fan and open window were sufficient for comfort. Beds were comfy. Internet access in room a must for our teen. (There is subway construction in front of the hotel but, aside from the first impression, this was not a problem at all.) I would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 for 2 nights. We had a room on the third floor - it was small but well appointed and was everything we needed. The location was perfect and it didn't take us long to find our way around this amazing City. Everything was within walking distance and this hotel was reasonably priced. If you are using it simply for sleeping while you spend the days exploring the City, this hotel is perfect. It certainly isn't luxury, but for price and location - you can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed two nights at this small hotel, right new Dam Square. The room was clean, and because of the heat wave, we had a small fan that cooled the room nicely. It's Amsterdam so don't expect it to be quiet especially on a week-end with a Rock concert going on, but with the fan, comfortable beds we had a good night's sleep, despite the open window. Close to all major attractions, lots of good restaurants, and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room not facing Rokin street might be quieter but you might also miss the special Amsterda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stumbled upon the Rokin when all other hotels in town were fully booked for the Queen's day weekend. I was a bit sceptical at first because I wasn't 100% sure of the location but my concerns were totally unfounded - less than a five minute walk from Dam Square and also within walking distance of Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein and the Museum quarter. The hotel was in old buildings but the inside was beautifully modern. I had a couple of small issues with my room but both of these were taken care of immediately by the very attentive staff. The breakfast buffet was also very good - I have paid more than 15 Euro for worse in other hotels. Definitely to be recommended

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.