We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
wigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A party of us stayed at Rokin in February. What a little gem. We had a really nice spacious room on the front with good facilities. The hotel has a lift. Big plus in the Dam. Very good breakfast and just 2 minutes walk from Dam square. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    91
    65
    16
    6
See reviews for
17
78
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a night in January. The rooms were comfortable and warm, a bit basic but good value. Breakfast is very basic with limited choices but adequate.
The first room we were assigned was on the 3rd floor but facing the back which I didn't like so I asked for a different room. The lady at reception handed me 3 or 4 different room keys and I got to choose which room I wanted out of the ones available so I was very happy about that.

Overall a good value stay and very central location :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

At November 2012 we where at Amsterdam for a weekend at the Rokin Hotel, this hotel is situated at Rokin ( name of the street ) wich is only 1 km of the Amsterdam central station and very close to the shopping streets and the malls. Madame Tussauds is just behind the corner and worth a visit. The Leidse plein ( square ) is the most popular square in the neighbourhood.
Breakfast was good and enough choice, coffee, thee, orange juise, chocolate milk and etc are available

Room Tip: Try to ask a room at the backside, the windows are made from single glass layers and with good weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent the weekend with a couple of friends, great price right in the heart of Amsterdam - 5 minute walk from the central station and 3 minutes from the main shopping areas. room was clean and warm, breakfast was great. only problem was the club next door - friday night is a big night for them and it sounds as though the music is playing in the room.. if you can't beat them - join them! (:
sorry to say it's not handicapped friendly - high and narrow stairs, dinning hall is on the bottom floor (sort of underground), and although theu have a lift - it doesn't reach it.

all in all, if you're on a budget it's a good choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel was perfect in everything despite the room size is small but it doesn't matter as when you are in Amsterdam you need a clean hotel with good service & the location & this hotel was perfect in thses three aspects.

Room Tip: there is some works on the street so to get a quite room you need to have it either on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here on my first trip to Amsterdam. Will stay here again.

The location is perfect for anything you are there for. The rooms are small and the rooms on the back are a little dark but you use it as a base so that's fine.

The hotel staff were pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.

The breakfast was basic continental but what was provided was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many budget hotels in Amsterdam, the Hotel Rokin is head and shoulders above the rest.
The on-line booking was straightforward, check in was easy and there was a lift which is unusual in Amsterdam.
Our double room was really warm and fairly spacious compared to other similar priced hotels in the area. The bed was comfy, the shower was hot, there is free wi-fi, hairdryer, TV and safe.
Downstairs is a lovely breakfast room with lots of choices, this is included in the price.
Location is perfect for all attractions, we would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Rokin and the staff

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor which appears to be newly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.