We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, tiny rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very central, tiny rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I wanted to see as much of Amsterdam as it was possible within less than 2 days.
And Rokin was exactly the type of place for that.
On one hand, the hotel is located in the very Center of the city within walking distance to all of the main attractions.
On the other hand, the rooms are really tiny, so I spent as much time sightseeing as I was physically able to do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    120
    82
    22
    7
See reviews for
20
97
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First impressions were poor as despite giving my credit card number during the booking online process as a guarantee, the hotel requested me to pay total cost of my stay in advance on checking in. I have no idea if this is standard procedure or the hotel did not trust me.

My annoyance was assuaged to a certain extent by the room itself which was clean, comfortable and decent sized for Amsterdam standards.

The Wi-Fi signal on the top floor was faint with the connection slow and dropping off frequently. The TV channel choice wasn’t great with around half the channels having poor reception.

I thought the breakfast choice was a little limited compared to comments from other Trip Advisor reviewers especially on breakfast cereals and morning goods. However the pancakes, admittedly from a packet, and the coffee were truly excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear will be quiter to due contruction work on the metro at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 (sleepless) nights. The main pros of this place is location - right in the center, a few meters form the Dam Square. Another pros was lift. Traditional dutch stairs developed for alpinists (or fairies - they can fly :)).
The main cons are:
- construction works right near the hotel. I had a room at back but it didn't help so I didn't sleep even one night there due to a terrible technical noise
- hot water supply. My tiny room was on the forth floor and each morning I was waiting for 5 - 7 minutes for a hot water
- WiFi router stopped working on the first day of my arrival and it took them 3 days to replace it. By fact I didn't have internet in my room during the whole stay. I've been there for a business trip and good Internet connection was very important
- after all breakfast could be definitely better.

Room Tip: I can't recommend any room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Rokin for four days. Pros are location, cleanliness, comfortable bed, and excellent breakfast. Cons are construction on street (ask for a room at back) and old stained carpet in room. It was great to have a great selection of good food for breakfast before heading out for the day. It was also great to be so close to everything as the hotel is only a ten minute walk from Centraal Station. We would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Not the best, but well adequate and GOOD VALUE.

Helpful and friendly staff, comfortable, clean, and a good breakfast included.

If your budget exceeds the back-packer status but does not reach the 'money no object' level you will enjoy a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed at the Rokin recently, having travelled to Amsterdam previously I booked the hotel based on its central location, metres from Dam Square. We checked in early without complaint, the hotel benefits from a lift which is a major advantage to climbing the usual steep, narrow stairs you normally encounter. The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor with a view to the front, it was well equipped and a good size. Breakfast is in the basement which is accessed via a wooden staircase which may not be suitable to the less able or elderly, there was a good choice of food on offer. The hotel benefits from free wifi which was excellent, even on the 3rd floor. The only minus I can think of (and it's not the fault of the hotel) is the subway which is being constructed right outside, it has been going on for a few years now and is set to continue for some time. Overall a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were recommended to this hotel at short notice, but even though in the basement with no views, it was very quiet considering we were in the centre of a bustling city. The room was beautifully clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, don't miss the pancakes. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.Fire safety was good, one of the best hotels in a city location for fire safety.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel or even basement as the metro constuction outside won't be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.