We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rokin, Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
KO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Rokin, Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Location in the center, however on a big noisy street. Don't expect a calm sleep early night or into the morning as you hear the trams passing by. Yes, construction is still going on and it is probably unbearable during the weak (visited on a weekend). The room was small and have the minimum features, however, the bed was comfortable, the price was right,breakfast was above average and the staff was nice. Free Wi-fi in the room is anpother plus.there a small fan in the room, which means it probably get too hot later in the summer.

Room Tip: not a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    107
    71
    20
    7
See reviews for
18
89
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Good breakfast, nice staff, strategic location, clean. Very cramped room with no window- not worth the price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Easily recommend this hotel - centrally located and within easy walking distance to nearly everything. Friendly helpful staff provided me with a map, directions, recommendations and guidance. All well done. Internet connection in the room was excellent. This was booked as part of a Tuilip Cycling tour. There was some construction outside the hotel that reduced the pleasure of the hotel. Once that is completed, no hesitations about being there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bustan HaGalil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Second time in Amsterdam and again in the same hotel.The hotel is located in the city center, close to all major and important attractions. professional staff, friendly and willing to help and explain. The rooms are very clean. You should ask back rooms because the hotel is located on Main Street and the noise can disturb sleep at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location for seeing Amsterdam. Room bright and clean. Service very good. Would have been nice to have a kettle and coffee/tea in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I quite enjoyed my 4 day stay at the Rokin Hotel. Very nice establishment and very friendly staff who were warm and welcoming. This hotel is a great jumping off point for just about all areas of the city if you are up for walking. Tram is right out the door for those who like public transit. I typically stay closer to the Centraal Station when in Amsterdam but I was quite happy to go further afield as staying at the Rokin allowed me to be closer to attractions I would typically have to really hike to, even though it is only a 15 minute walk to Centraal Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Rokinstraat, as they are currently constructing the metro outside the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great location, just 10 min walk from the train station and no problem to find, just off Dam Square. Arrived on early flight, booked a double room but as they had a twin available on arrival opted for this, as we were tierd, although located to the front of the hotel. Construction work on street, underground being built, so dont expect it to be quiet dring working hours. room was small but spotless, sheets were pretty worn, one had holes in it and also two of the towels, this is not good enough as we were payin 65.00eur pps per night B&B. I did not complain, as i think they should know themselves without it having to be pointed out, a hole is a hole at the end of the day, you wouldnt have it at home and as i was so tierd when i arrived i couldnt be bothered. Breakfast was Excellent, lovely and fresh. Staff were all lovely and helpful. i would definatly stay here again and recomend it. Location and staff would bring me back.

Room Tip: Room to back of hotel while underground being built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HotelsNL, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.