We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I quite enjoyed my 4 day stay at the Rokin Hotel. Very nice establishment and very friendly staff who were warm and welcoming. This hotel is a great jumping off point for just about all areas of the city if you are up for walking. Tram is right out the door for those who like public transit. I typically stay closer to the Centraal Station when in Amsterdam but I was quite happy to go further afield as staying at the Rokin allowed me to be closer to attractions I would typically have to really hike to, even though it is only a 15 minute walk to Centraal Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Rokinstraat, as they are currently constructing the metro outside the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    109
    71
    20
    7
See reviews for
18
91
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great location, just 10 min walk from the train station and no problem to find, just off Dam Square. Arrived on early flight, booked a double room but as they had a twin available on arrival opted for this, as we were tierd, although located to the front of the hotel. Construction work on street, underground being built, so dont expect it to be quiet dring working hours. room was small but spotless, sheets were pretty worn, one had holes in it and also two of the towels, this is not good enough as we were payin 65.00eur pps per night B&B. I did not complain, as i think they should know themselves without it having to be pointed out, a hole is a hole at the end of the day, you wouldnt have it at home and as i was so tierd when i arrived i couldnt be bothered. Breakfast was Excellent, lovely and fresh. Staff were all lovely and helpful. i would definatly stay here again and recomend it. Location and staff would bring me back.

Room Tip: Room to back of hotel while underground being built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Excellent location, but not so great value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back side; it is quieter; avoid the rooms located on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Flight time from Glasgow around 65 mins
Transfer time from Airport to hotel around 20 minutes by Taxi - cost 50 Euros

Bedroom - Our room was room 36 located on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. The room was very small but spotless, it was cleaned every day. The bedding was a little worn but it didn't take away from the comfortable beds - really soft. It had 2 single beds pushed together, unfortunately, at the head of the bed was a BIG wooden "rafter beam" right in between them which we smacked our heads off a few times... not the best! There was a safe (at no extra charge) a small wardrobe and a desk/chair. There was a 22" LCD TV with BBC1 and a music channel but no other English speaking channels. Checkout is between 7 & 11am but they are happy to keep your bags for you and reception will happily book you a taxi if you need one for the airport etc.. You could hear other holiday makers in the rooms above / beside you - but it wasn't enough to put us off the hotel.

Bathroom - Bathroom was small but functional, it was basically a "wet room", unfortunately... this ALSO had the ever present rafter beams inside the showers which (if you are over 5 foot 6) you'd smack your head off too! :-/ , the water pressure was good even at times when there was high usage. There was a hair dryer and 2 bath & 2 hand towels. There was also complimentary shampoo, shower gel, and soap.

There is a lift, it goes from the ground floor to the 3rd floor. So.. if you are on the 4th floor and when going to/from breakfast in the basement, you need to go up and down a flight of steep stairs.

The staff were all really friendly and happy to help with any queries / directions etc. Reception is 24 hours.

Breakfast was really nice - offering bacon and eggs, cheeses and cold meats etc, There was toast, pancakes cereals - basically what you'd expect from a continental hotel.

WIFI - there was access to free WIFI from anywhere in the hotel giving really good coverage. There was also the use of a PC in main reception too if you wanted it at no extra charge.

Location - About 2 minutes walk from Dam square and about 10 from the red light district, about 15 minutes walk from Central station. Walking in the other direction, you are about 10 minutes from Rembrandt square too - The hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of things without being in your face.

There was lots of noise from the digging/drilling outside the hotel early in the morning, where they are building a subway, it wasn't as bad as you'd think to be honest but not likely to be finished till 2015 ish. It wouldn't put me off staying here.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would likely use it again. Amsterdam is a fantastic place to visit and this hotels location makes it ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - no higher than floor 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Excellent location, marvellous breakfast buffet, clean and spacious rooms with comfortable beds and friendly and attentive staff. I was very happy with my stay here and would book again on a future visit.

Room Tip: The rooms in the basement and breakfast room are not served by a lift so if be aware of this if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is in a great central location however, it is next to a building site which was extremely noisy. The hotel is on a main road, with trams and traffic running late into the night. The walls were very thin and I could hear people walking about and talking in the corridors, late at night. In addition, the room was very warm so did not get much sleep on my recent 3 night stay.
The room was basic, but clean. The continental buffet breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed here for five nights on business. The room was small, but clean, and I followed other trip advisor recommendations to book an upper floor at the back of the hotel, which did minimize construction/party noise. The beds were very soft, which was comfortable at first, but a little achy after a full night on them. The full breakfast was really a great value since food in th area is expensive. I used the wireless internet quite a bit and there was only one brief time where I had any problems. Everyone who worked at the hotel was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsNL so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.