We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokin Hotel to your Saves list
Rokin Hotel
Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

Very nice hotel located near all places of interest but in a quiet area. We stayed 3 nights sheets changed every day. Buffet breakfast very good too . Staff extremely nice and helpful except one guy the first night who took exception to us having a smoke on steps outside ! We would stay here again for sure. What a city! Red light rocks!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    109
    71
    20
    7
See reviews for
18
91
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location, very clean, great staff on reception. breakfast v good especially the pancakes. room small basic but very clean and comfy beds everything you need. the only down side was the very early start of the workmen out side but this is not anything anyone could do about this so will not affect my rating

Room Tip: maybe better having a room at the back at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel was within easy walking distance of all the attractions, but far enough away from the red light district that it wasn't too noisy at night. The breakfast was good, with bacon, eggs, pancakes, cereal, pastries etc, although on one occassion when we got up later, the bacon and eggs were cold.
The room was clean and we had no problems with the staff while we were there.
There were roadworks out side the front of the hotel, where they were working on the new tube line, but they didn't bother us. In fact they were a bonus, as we quite like 'people watching', and could see all the cranes etc working. We stayed for 3 nights as a long weekend, and this hotel was ideal for what we wanted.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Our room was downstairs with no views but clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet has good variety. The Hotel is within walking distance to everything. Very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great Location.

Average not expencive hotel.
Good internet access

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I'll avoid an overly verbose review and just write about what were for me the positives and negatives of this hotel:

Positives: great location, minutes from the plaza, red light district, canal cruise stop and the train station. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable enough and the maids did an excellent job of cleaning everyday - I say this because i rarely see maids in hotels vacuum daily. Staff was friendly enough and helpful with our inquiries regarding directions, tours. Breakfast was not bad for an inclusive hotel breakfast.

Negatives: pricey, quarters are a bit tight and some of the corridors are narrow and staircases small and difficult to traverse with luggage (depends of course on where your room is).

Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Location: 3 min walk from Dam square; between 2 tram stations; 13 min walk to central train station. Around/opposite the hotel are: small mini supermart, authentic Chinese restaurant, shops selling tourist stuff. The lift reaches the level of my room, so no need to lug luggage up steep stairs. Size of my single room: very small, after the single bed (too soft), toilet, a cupboard and small writing table, there is no space for anything else. Room is quiet and clean. Breakfast: very good - smoked salmon, 3 types of cheeses, eggs cooked in two ways, 6 types of tea, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.