We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nicolaas Witsen Hotel to your Saves list
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights, after trawling the internet for a reasonable hotel near the centre of Amsterdam. We chose the Nicolaas Witsen Hotel which from the map, looked a little further out than we wanted, but looked nice and a reasonable price.
We soon realised after arriving, the Hotel was in a perfect location. Short walk to restaurants and cafe's, quiet and trendy area, across the canal from a supermarket and a stone's throw from the tram.
The staff were SO nice and friendly! Always happy to help, the lovely lady at reception let us use the phone when we thought my partners mobile phone had been stolen, pointed out the local police station too (we found the phone, we'd left it at a restaurant!)
The only things that the hotel lacked was air con (during two nights it was around 30 degrees celsius) and on one night we could hear the people above quite clearly.
Overall, the hotel is very reasonably priced, great location, lovely staff and very clean, the breakfast was great too. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    91
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
42
62
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice, clean, well equiped rooms, good elevator, good breakfast, convenient to public tram system (#4 or #25 from central station,) easy to get to major sites (Rjiksmuseum,) strong Wifi, can't say enough good about this hotel!

...and the BEST LOOKING afternoon desk clerk, and morning breakfast staff, in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We had a nice triple room with three twin beds. Room was very warm, to us, in July, with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimy, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Found it to be a good location as it wasn't in a noisy area but was a short walk from Rembrantplein and the Museum Quarter. Breakfast was good but room was a little dirty (cobwebs). There was a good bar across the road and there were lots of decent restaurants nearby. But then this is Amsterdam so always something nearby! There were 3 of us in the room and it suited our needs. Would stay here again, if travelling with same amount of people and on a budget.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff is nice and helpful, but...
Hotel is at least 15 minutes away from key places if you decide to go walking.
Walls of the rooms are so thin you can't avoid hearing everything going on in the rooms around you.
Cleaning involves changing the towels, not bed sheets even if staying for three nights, and a quick 5 minute cleaning in the WC.
Even though the keys to the rooms are traditional, old, heavy keys you have to leave at reception before leaving the hotel every day, they don't use that information to schedule room cleaning. They entered my room one morning while I was still there! The following day they did the room while I was having breakfast but hadn't handed in my key. To make matters worse, a big spider was waiting for me in the room that night!
Wouldn't stay there again and definitely can't find reasons to recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Eigenaar at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sunny R,

Thank you for your review and your friendly words about the staff. About the distance to the major attractions its a pitty, you were in the wrong area. We are located in the South part of Amsterdam city center, closeby: Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Heineken Experience, Leidseplein and Rembrandtplein. Probably you were looking for a hotel more in the North side of Amsterdam City center, close to Central Station, Dam square and Red light district. This is about 20 to 30 minutes walking from the hotel.

Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is located in one of the old parts of Amsterdam. The buildings are build in 1895 and have a nice historical look. It is true that this old buildings are not that soundproof as new buildings, but all rooms have double glass windows to avoid sounds from outside.

We clean all the rooms every day, including bathroom, new towels (if on the ground) and vacuüm cleaning. Every 3 days ,or if requested earlier, we change the sheets. Off course we also change the sheets when they are dirty. In your case, we did not change them as you stayed only for 3 nights and we did not receive a request to change them. We do not change the sheets every day because of the environment.

We have old school keys with a big keyball on it and we love them! Guests do not want to take this keys with them, that's why you can leve it at the reception. The cleaners always knock on the door before they enter the room. I am sorry if you did not hear their knocking. I will tell them to knock a little louder. It is not exceptional that the cleaners clean the rooms, while guests having their breakfast.

I am sorry about the spider. They are pretty quick and probably he wasn't there yet, while your room was cleaned, otherwise the cleaner had move him to outside. I hope it was gone the next day after your room was cleaned again.

I am very sorry about your dissatisfaction and hope during your next trip you will have a hotel which suits better to your expections.

With kind regards,


Alex Roozendaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Long weekend with my sister in Amsterdam.The staff are very friendly, always smiling and very helpful. The hotel was in a more peaceful area but just a few minutes away from the main areas with the trams running from the main road outside the hotel. Our room was exceptionally clean (we were in room 9) with two very large windows which opened fully. The room had everything we needed, tea/coffee making facilities, good size wardrobe, lovely shower/bathroom and very comfy beds with fresh clean linen. Hopefully I will be returning to Amsterdam with my children and when I do I will definately be booking Hotel Nicolaas Witsen again. 5/5.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved our stay with you. One of the most important assets is your staff, they are all friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.
The rooms are nice, neat and clean. The location is perfect for couples and families who like a central location but not necessarily near the level of activity and noise in some of the main streets.

Something that was very welcoming for us was the gentleman at the front desk when we checked in. We had been traveling for more than twelve hours and we arrived at about 10am at the hotel. He was very understanding and offered to have our room ready in less that 15 minutes, even though we had arrived before check out time.
He offered us a cup of coffee while we waited, and that just made my day. I had mentioned my husband I really needed some coffee to signal my body it was morning time. It was very considered and thoughtful of him.

Thank you everyone at Hotel Nicolaas Witsen,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.