We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nicolaas Witsen Hotel to your Saves list
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Nicolaas W. Location good, quiet area, away from the busy city centre, close to Van Gogh, Heineken Brewery and museums, easy access into the central by Metro or trams. Staff friendly and very helpful. Helped pre book tickets for the fast lane at Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, something I highly recommend. We had checked out in the morning and had our luggage kept in storage by hotel all day. By the time we got back to hotel to get our taxi that was booked for the airport, staff had our bags all packed in cab and waiting. Very efficient! Breakfast ok, nothing warm but ok to start the day off with toast, pastries, fruit, cereal and juice. We had a triple room which was a small room and double bed was made up of two singles and all beds were soft. That was not a big issue for us. We found it very comfortable and we would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    105
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
46
71
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam many times over the years and was only in town for one night for the sake of my travel companion who had never visited. This was my first stay at this hotel and it is going on my list of hotel to revisit. While they did not honor my reservation for twin beds, the room I received was clean and reasonably appealing. The free breakfast was well stocked with item that appealed to my American taste. The location was close to the tram system and Rembrandt Square was within walking distance. If you are looking for a quiet hotel that’s not far from the center of town, then give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I can only agree with the good things people have said about this hotel. Good location a few minutes walk from the centre and yet in a quiet side street so no noise. Very nicely decorated and maintained inside and very clean. Pleasant staff and a good continental breakfast with plenty choice. I had read that the rooms were small. We had a double and a twin room and whilst not the biggest of rooms each had a walk in wardrobe which was more than big enough for all our clothes and luggage. The en suite bathroom was bright and clean too. Room service made up our room each day whilst we were at breakfast. The large window in the rooms could be opened wide for fresh air. On our last day we weren't leaving until the afternoon. The manager kept our luggage in his office for us until we departed. Someone commented that there was no safe in the room - there was one in each of ours inside the walk in wardrobe. We would definitely stay here again and I have no hesitation in giving this hotel 5/5

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice relaxed hotel in a good area with easy access to city centre and De Pijp area. 5 minutes walk from Heiniken brewery and 10/ 15 into centre with good tram service also. Good breakfast and rooms were clean and well serviced. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were tidy and clean and there was even tea/coffee en suite. Breakfast was very good. If there was something missing, it was made available within short time. The hotel was perfectly located for us. There were several tram stations/lines just around the corner which made it easy for us to reach the city center, the central station and also the Museumsplein. Heineken Experience, Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum, Albert Cuyp Market and the Canal Bus could be easily reached even by foot within a quarter of an hour but also by tram.

Room Tip: For a couple: If available take the French double bed. We had two single beds put together and often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Eu e minha família chegamos no Nicolaas Witsen "no susto", porque tivemos um problema com o outro hotel. Mesmo assim, foi uma grata surpresa, porque os atendentes eram simpáticos e supersolícitos, entendendo nossa situação e permitindo que fizéssemos o check-in ainda de manhã, já que havia quartos disponíveis. O hotel é bem localizado, perto de duas estações de bonde, que conecta os hóspedes a toda a cidade. É perto apenas da Heineken Experience e da Albert Cuypmarkt, mas sua localização central permite que não seja demorado chegar a qualquer outra atração de Amsterdã. O café da manhã é simples, mas bem gostoso. No balcão, é possível comprar o passeio de barco pelos canais com desconto. Recomendo bastante.

---

My family and I arrived at Nicolaas Witsen "in fright" because we had a problem with another hotel. Still, it was a pleasant surprise, because the attendants were friendly and solicitous, understanding our situation and allowing us to check-in yet in the morning, as there were rooms available. The hotel is well located, close to two tram stations, which connects guests to the entire city. It is only near the Heineken Experience and the Albert Cuypmarkt, but its central location makes it quick to get to any other attraction in Amsterdam. The breakfast is simple but very tasty. At the counter, you can buy the Canal Cruise with discount. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

fantastic hotel with very kindly and helpfull staff.
breakfast was good with good coffee and tea!
Very good location, very quiet and the beds are excellent! Like to come again!!
Thanks for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.