We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Amsterdam experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nicolaas Witsen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, Amsterdam 1017 ZH , The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    93
    35
    13
    3
See reviews for
35
49
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orkney Scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just got home from a great holiday. The hotel nicolaas witsen was every thing it said it was on the Internet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and big enough. The trams are the way to get around and cheap. Thank you again for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are at this moment enjoying complimentary breakfast at the hotel, it is very nice. Room felt very clean and bathroom as well. It is not large room, but was very comfortable. We had a 140cm bed, which we slept very well in, comfortable pillows and comforter. Staff is very friendly and it has been a very nice stay. About 30 minutes walk from the central train station and less the 15 minutes to restaurants and shops. We stayed here for a convention and some sightseeing, it was a 20 minutes walk to RAI. The hotel was a perfect stay for a couple vacation to, as we felt very comfortable coming back and relaxing in the room. It is not a chic boutique hotel, but a good and clean comfortable hotel. Pictures felt true from hotels own website. We booked directly with the hotel and got a better deal there.

Room Tip: We prefer to sleep with the with the window open, there is a tram running on the cross street and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Located just across the Heineken Brewery, Albert Cyp Market, Rijks Museum, Van Gaugh Museum and the canal just few steps away, this was our home away from home. The Hotel is located in a beautiful serene neighbourhood. We got the full FEEL of Amsterdam by staying here. Our children loved this place. The staff are extremely helpful, present 24/7. Alex at reception, who we came to know is a co-owner was so friendly and cool. Although there is no Air Conditioning, the windows were big and could be opened wide to let the cool breeze in. You can also buy Cruise, biking and other attractions tickets from the Reception at a very good discounted rate. We hope to travel again to Amsterdam and we will definitely stay here only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am so glad I booked this wonderful 28 room boutique-like hotel and it has an elevator. The building was built in 1906. It is family owned. Alex, co-owner said that his parents started the hotel in 1982. He joined the business in 2000.

This hotel is spotless. The service is wonderful. Believe me, they aim to please.

Breakfast is typical Dutch and is complimentary. There is also excellent and free WiFi with a communal computer if needed. My group played dominoes in room where there is a small bar and where breakfast is served. It was allowed. It was fun and we weren't bothering anyone.

Rooms are small but everything you need is there. I appreciate the armoire with hanging space and also shelves. If your room is at the front of the building and your window is open, it can be noisy however, mostly during the day when people are usually out touring. No A/C however, the room is comfortable and there is window and transom that opens enough for fresh air.

A couple blocks away are very nice restaurants. Also, many of the major museums are close by plus the canal is about 200 yards away.

Large chain hotels can be very nice but I think that staying in a hotel like the Nicolaas Witsen adds to the trip experience. I look forward to staying at this hotel within the next couple of years with another group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff were nice and helpful with information, the room was reasonably clean for Amsterdam.
THERE WAS NO AIR CONDITIONING AND YOU COULD ONLY OPEN THE WINDOWS ABOUT 25MM..
The staff finally gave us a tiny fan that only managed to blow the hot air around.
avoid this hotel in the summer season, it is obvious that it is onlyset up for winter as the rooms were full of heating radiators that thankfully weren't on otherwise we would have melted !!

Room Tip: If it's summer in Amsterdam avoid non air cond premises, and another thing avoid the trams as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay in this hotel, the room was small but comfortable, Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice, the two young men serving breakfast were superb. On the second day after returning from a day out we discovered some English money and a bracelet had been taken from our room. We reported this incident to reception, We regret not using the safe, if you use this hotel make sure your first job is to get a safe key from reception 25 (euro deposit). If the room has no safe take your valuables out with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you for your review. We have spoken about this incident and because of this information we start an investigation. We found out who this was (a staff member) and we fired him immediately. In the 13 years I am running this hotel, this was the first time this happened and this is why I took it very seriously. we have taken the necessary steps to prevent this in the future. Thank you for helping us to solve this problem by telling us and I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, Amsterdam 1017 ZH , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.