We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nicolaas Witsen Hotel to your Saves list
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Located just across the Heineken Brewery, Albert Cyp Market, Rijks Museum, Van Gaugh Museum and the canal just few steps away, this was our home away from home. The Hotel is located in a beautiful serene neighbourhood. We got the full FEEL of Amsterdam by staying here. Our children loved this place. The staff are extremely helpful, present 24/7. Alex at reception, who we came to know is a co-owner was so friendly and cool. Although there is no Air Conditioning, the windows were big and could be opened wide to let the cool breeze in. You can also buy Cruise, biking and other attractions tickets from the Reception at a very good discounted rate. We hope to travel again to Amsterdam and we will definitely stay here only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    86
    35
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
54
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am so glad I booked this wonderful 28 room boutique-like hotel and it has an elevator. The building was built in 1906. It is family owned. Alex, co-owner said that his parents started the hotel in 1982. He joined the business in 2000.

This hotel is spotless. The service is wonderful. Believe me, they aim to please.

Breakfast is typical Dutch and is complimentary. There is also excellent and free WiFi with a communal computer if needed. My group played dominoes in room where there is a small bar and where breakfast is served. It was allowed. It was fun and we weren't bothering anyone.

Rooms are small but everything you need is there. I appreciate the armoire with hanging space and also shelves. If your room is at the front of the building and your window is open, it can be noisy however, mostly during the day when people are usually out touring. No A/C however, the room is comfortable and there is window and transom that opens enough for fresh air.

A couple blocks away are very nice restaurants. Also, many of the major museums are close by plus the canal is about 200 yards away.

Large chain hotels can be very nice but I think that staying in a hotel like the Nicolaas Witsen adds to the trip experience. I look forward to staying at this hotel within the next couple of years with another group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff were nice and helpful with information, the room was reasonably clean for Amsterdam.
THERE WAS NO AIR CONDITIONING AND YOU COULD ONLY OPEN THE WINDOWS ABOUT 25MM..
The staff finally gave us a tiny fan that only managed to blow the hot air around.
avoid this hotel in the summer season, it is obvious that it is onlyset up for winter as the rooms were full of heating radiators that thankfully weren't on otherwise we would have melted !!

Room Tip: If it's summer in Amsterdam avoid non air cond premises, and another thing avoid the trams as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay in this hotel, the room was small but comfortable, Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice, the two young men serving breakfast were superb. On the second day after returning from a day out we discovered some English money and a bracelet had been taken from our room. We reported this incident to reception, We regret not using the safe, if you use this hotel make sure your first job is to get a safe key from reception 25 (euro deposit). If the room has no safe take your valuables out with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you for your review. We have spoken about this incident and because of this information we start an investigation. We found out who this was (a staff member) and we fired him immediately. In the 13 years I am running this hotel, this was the first time this happened and this is why I took it very seriously. we have taken the necessary steps to prevent this in the future. Thank you for helping us to solve this problem by telling us and I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was a bit hit and miss at nicolaas winsten hotel. Service from staff was excellent- probably the best bit about our stay. The 2 young guys at breakfast were always friendly and helpful. Location was great for what we were Doing- we didn't see the need to use public transport, just walked. The rooms themself were pretty basic and small. The bathroom was beyond small and was it was very difficult to get in and out of the shower due to the basin being right there. Also there was a funny smell in there. There was no fan or air conditioning which made the room very stuffy and although there was a window there was little airflow. The beds were very uncomfortable to the point where we removed them from their bases and slept on our mattresses on the ground- this was much better! Our pillows were comfortable although were in definite need of replacement (stained yellow). Like I said the hotel was hit and miss. Would I return? Yes if the prices were a little cheaper as I think it is overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited Amsterdam for 3 nights on June 2013.
The staff was extremely welcoming and assistive, and the rooms, though a bit small, were comfortable and clean. Wi-Fi was available both in the room and in the Dining room with excellent service.
It shows that the hotel has been renovated recently, which makes the stay nicer. It's also very quiet all day and night.
Breakfast was yummy and rich enough for a good start of the day.
The location was fine - about 7-10 minutes to Rembrandt Plein or Leidse Plein.
Cons are pretty small and petty: no canal views as the hotel is one road away from the canal area, and lack of a safe box in the room, which could have made us calmer about our important stuff while in town.
We definitely recommend this place to anyone, especially in terms of value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had booked for a double room online and when we checked-in to the hotel, we were told by the receptionist that no double rooms were available and she could give us two single beds. That wouldn't work for us since we also had a 3 year old, hence we requested if she could find us a double bed that we had originally asked for. After some grumbling from her end, magically a double bed became available. I was also notified quite sharply that requesting anything is not a guarantee (fair enough regarding the semantics but not necessarily the tone of communication). We were also told that they charge extra for children above 4 years - something that is not mentioned at all when we booked the rooms. In any case, I did tell her that my son was 3 (passport supplied for proof). Apart from the initial check-in experience that wasn't very great, I was surprised to see how small the room was (tiny and very basic). The bed was absolutely horrible - the mattress was sponge-like/ like a foam that gave rise to quite a bad backache for me and could barely be called a double bed. The shower was again basic with an old shower curtain and the water wouldn't drain through the sink properly. We stayed for 4 nights and the sheets were changed only once on request as my son had thrown up on it - also with much grumbling, even though we tipped the cleaner for her help because it had some vomit stains on the sheet.
On the plus side - great location. Walking distance to the Heineken brewery and also to Rijks museum if the weather is good. Nice places to eat a short distance away and the canal is right in front of the hotel. The breakfast is average - not great, not bad either even though there is no variation in the food that was given to us. Same thing, everyday! They help you book tours from the hotel but pick-up for these trips are either on the parallel street or you have to go the centre for getting on the bus trips.
Overall, I wasn't happy with the hotel at all. Overpriced for the service and standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs Ghosh,

Thank you to write a review about our hotel. As the rooms with 1 double bed are limited, we cannot always guarantee 1 double bed if this is requested. To avoid disappointment we have written this on all (booking)websites.

Our child policy is as following: Children up to 2 years old (24 months) can stay for free, including a baby cot. For families with children of 2 years or older, we have triple rooms and quad rooms. These rooms are bigger and more comfortable. This policy is also written on all (booking) websites as well.

Our room sizes are not small, compared to other Amsterdam hotels in our price range. However to avoid disappointment about the room sizes, we have written the sizes of each room type on all (booking) websites. As you have booked the smallest twin/double room and stayed here with 3 instead of 2 people, I understand the room was too small.

We change the sheets always after 4 nights, but also if it is necessary or on request of the guest. You have stayed for 4 nights and the sheets were changed once. This is correct. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations of a 3 star hotel.

About the location you are right. A lot of our regular customers will agree with you.

I hope you will find a hotel which suits better with your expectations next time. I can suggest you to read the websites carefully about child policy and room sizes to avoid disappointment in the future.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.