We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nicolaas Witsen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, Amsterdam 1017 ZH , The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited Amsterdam for 3 nights on June 2013.
The staff was extremely welcoming and assistive, and the rooms, though a bit small, were comfortable and clean. Wi-Fi was available both in the room and in the Dining room with excellent service.
It shows that the hotel has been renovated recently, which makes the stay nicer. It's also very quiet all day and night.
Breakfast was yummy and rich enough for a good start of the day.
The location was fine - about 7-10 minutes to Rembrandt Plein or Leidse Plein.
Cons are pretty small and petty: no canal views as the hotel is one road away from the canal area, and lack of a safe box in the room, which could have made us calmer about our important stuff while in town.
We definitely recommend this place to anyone, especially in terms of value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    88
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
31
48
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had booked for a double room online and when we checked-in to the hotel, we were told by the receptionist that no double rooms were available and she could give us two single beds. That wouldn't work for us since we also had a 3 year old, hence we requested if she could find us a double bed that we had originally asked for. After some grumbling from her end, magically a double bed became available. I was also notified quite sharply that requesting anything is not a guarantee (fair enough regarding the semantics but not necessarily the tone of communication). We were also told that they charge extra for children above 4 years - something that is not mentioned at all when we booked the rooms. In any case, I did tell her that my son was 3 (passport supplied for proof). Apart from the initial check-in experience that wasn't very great, I was surprised to see how small the room was (tiny and very basic). The bed was absolutely horrible - the mattress was sponge-like/ like a foam that gave rise to quite a bad backache for me and could barely be called a double bed. The shower was again basic with an old shower curtain and the water wouldn't drain through the sink properly. We stayed for 4 nights and the sheets were changed only once on request as my son had thrown up on it - also with much grumbling, even though we tipped the cleaner for her help because it had some vomit stains on the sheet.
On the plus side - great location. Walking distance to the Heineken brewery and also to Rijks museum if the weather is good. Nice places to eat a short distance away and the canal is right in front of the hotel. The breakfast is average - not great, not bad either even though there is no variation in the food that was given to us. Same thing, everyday! They help you book tours from the hotel but pick-up for these trips are either on the parallel street or you have to go the centre for getting on the bus trips.
Overall, I wasn't happy with the hotel at all. Overpriced for the service and standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs Ghosh,

Thank you to write a review about our hotel. As the rooms with 1 double bed are limited, we cannot always guarantee 1 double bed if this is requested. To avoid disappointment we have written this on all (booking)websites.

Our child policy is as following: Children up to 2 years old (24 months) can stay for free, including a baby cot. For families with children of 2 years or older, we have triple rooms and quad rooms. These rooms are bigger and more comfortable. This policy is also written on all (booking) websites as well.

Our room sizes are not small, compared to other Amsterdam hotels in our price range. However to avoid disappointment about the room sizes, we have written the sizes of each room type on all (booking) websites. As you have booked the smallest twin/double room and stayed here with 3 instead of 2 people, I understand the room was too small.

We change the sheets always after 4 nights, but also if it is necessary or on request of the guest. You have stayed for 4 nights and the sheets were changed once. This is correct. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations of a 3 star hotel.

About the location you are right. A lot of our regular customers will agree with you.

I hope you will find a hotel which suits better with your expectations next time. I can suggest you to read the websites carefully about child policy and room sizes to avoid disappointment in the future.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed really confortable in this hotel. The staff is nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and silent! Great location: close to the main squares ( Dam, Rembraindt) and to the museums.Nice bars and restaurants in this area. Good tram connection. I would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Manager at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- get a decent breakfast
-the reception staff are very helpful and friendly but it is Holland!
-close to tram line and museums.
Cons:
- toilet needs ventilation. Although it is clean, the smell is not very friendly.
-Single rooms are worse than a shoe box
-the walls are paper thin so you can hear people panting next door.
A bit out from everywhere else but you could always walk or hire a bike in Amsterdam! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Carl A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear it was not to your complete satisfaction.
As we are situated in the centre of Amsterdam, some of our single rooms are indeed limited in spaciousness. We're sorry to hear it was not to your liking.
Hygiene and cleanliness is of importance to us. A clean toilet should also smell fresh and clean, so we will definitely take that into account.
We hope nonetheless you still enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Superb situation walking distance to Museums, canals, restaurants and parks. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Rooms excellent -clean and well serviced. Plenty of breakfast choice. I'd stay there next time!

Room Tip: The small single rooms are perfectly adequate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear fatherpaul00,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our hotel. Hope to see you again in Hotel Nicolaas Witsen.

Kind regards,

Alex Roozendaal
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

On a quiet comfortable street, Nicolaas Witsin is just a few easy walking blocks from the Rijksmuseum and a couple more blocks to the hub-bub of the Leidsplein. The location is great, even to walk after dark. Hotel staff is super friendly. The room I had (for three) was Euro-small but not bad for a place to sleep and shower. Everything was sparkling-clean; the bathroom was up-to-date and well lighted, TV worked fine, super strong Wifi, and easy to manipulate radiator heat system. Elevator or really interesting circular stairs if you prefer. I couldn't have asked for better. Breakfast was complete with the usual assortments of breads, cold-cuts, fruits, coffee, cereal...etc. It the price is right for you, grab it up. You can't find a better place in a more convenient location. Yup, I would stay again if my travels take be to the A'dam direction!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

An ideal location, friendly and exceptionally helpful staff, the highest standards of cleanliness, excellent continental breakfast. Very good value for money. I recommend this hotel without reservation and when I return to Amsterdam I shall definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam
Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, Amsterdam 1017 ZH , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#112 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.