We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and low price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great location and low price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The location is great, right around the corner from the happening Leidesplein! I brought a group on a very tight budget, and wanted cheapest possible accommodations that was not a hostel. I wanted a location that was near the Leidesplein and Museumplein, and I wanted a place that was clean and safe. I was happy with the Kooyk. Toilet was down the hall, shower was actually one floor up. Washbasin and sink in room. I was first person to use the shower in the morning and it was immaculate. Granted, if you use it after 8 other people you may find it no longer immaculate, but that is not surprising. The couple who run the Koyk were very nice and helpful and greeted us warmly. The place was quiet and reasonably clean for an older building. Thi is not a 'party place' but simple lodging. There is no ambience, but if you want a cheap and basic room to sleep in, a safe and excellent location that is steps from the Leidesplein and very convenient to Museumplein, and don't mind possibly having to traipse upstairs to take a shower, the Kooyk is fine. Don't expect to pay this price and have the amenities and service you'd get at the Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    81
    79
    32
    62
See reviews for
31
112
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

My partner and I travelled to this hotel on leisure in late 2008 and stayed for 3 days. We were a bit hesitant to book this place initially given the poor reviews we had read on tripadvisor and the fact that it was a 1-star. After staying here, we now know the reason for all the poor reviews; this hotel is one to avoid by all means!

First, the bedding in our room was dirty, smelly and certainly hadn’t been changed for at least 3 months. The room smelt of dew and there were cockroaches and other insects crawling on the floor.

Second, the ‘private shower’ as advertised on the website at the time of booking; turned out to actually be a ‘shared shower’. Further, this shared shower was disgusting, dirty and equivalent to entering a storage container or unit. We refused to take any more showers over the period of our 3 day stay.

Third, our room was totally inaccessible. To get to it we needed to go up a very steep set of stairs, with very short steps (depth). Not ideal for ladies travelling with a lot of luggage or anyone with back problems.

Finally, the ultimate reason to avoid this hotel is the very odd experience my partner and I had where we retired for the night at close to 11pm and woke up the following day at 2.30pm! That’s 15 ½ hours sleep. Security to our room was very patchy and I’m not sure what to make of the whole incident. So letting you know of our experience in case you are thinking of going to this hotel.

All in all, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in February (5th, 6th and 7th) after advice from a friend who had already been a guest here.

Arrived late on the Friday and rang the doorbell to be greeted by a friendly young Dutch girl who checked us in swiftly and went over the house rules etc.

The rooms themselves are very no-frills: sink, couple of beds, television and a wardrobe. The TV was not working, taps were wrongly labelled for hot and cold, wardrobe a bit slanted although beds were okay. Toilet and shower were shared and our room (18) was close to both. The toilet is a touch small but the shower has good pressure and plenty of hot water.

Breakfast is served between 8am and 10am with toast, bread and spreads, tea/coffee, meat and cheese all available with hard boiled egss. Considering the breakfast laid on is included within the price of your room, value overall is excellent.

As the hotel was simply a base for the weekend, all I did there is included in the above and I have no more to say. My overall rating is: Very Good. Taking into consideration the price, location and friendliness, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROYDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

AMAZING. We stayed downsairs, had a private garden to smoke, the tv had sky in english, mtv, comedy central etc. there was a liddel across the road, ask them where it is, stock up on munch and drink. perfect location. i'm 22, it was perfect for me, staff were helpful. location was perfect. price was amazing. the only thing is breakfast wasn't all that....but who gives a s when ur stoned most of the time. bookit now, you know it makes sense

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

The hotel itself is a typical Amsterdam hotel, tall and narrow with steep stairs but these are by far not the worst we have encountered!!!
The proprietor met us at the door at 10am 4 hours early for check-in but was very friendly and helpful, we stored our luggage and settled up for the room at this time as well, Our room when we got in there was a great size (#12) it was downstairs next to the office and the only one it seemed on this level, it overlooked the garden and had double French doors leading on to this, the bed whilst not the newest was comfortable and the room was warm (it was November!!) For toilet facilities you use shared ones located on each landing in our case it appeared we were the only ones using the toilet so nice and private.....there are also showers available as well, it is a pity that toilets are not en-suite but as yet have not found anywhere that does this in this class of hotel.......
You have to remember with this hotel that it does what it says on the tin, its a one star budget class hotel, so whilst it is a bit rough round the edges it is clean and good value as breakfast is included and for the location poses excellent value.

I have used this hotel 3 times now and only the second time did we get a not so nice room, but this was only because it was dark and the window opened on to the internal light well, but again it was clean etc.

Breakfast is ample with the usual bread or toast, cold meats, cheese, preserves, boiled eggs, juice, tea/coffee, this is all buffet style so it's help yourself and no limits (within reason of course) it is also topped up as it runs out......

I would not hesitate to use this hotel again or recommend it to others.

The hotel is situated at the back of the Leidseplein square, central area for entertainment, bars, museums and only a one minute walk from the Melkweg venue so very handy for staying over when seeing artists peform etc, it is also on a tram route with a choice of 3 trams (1,2 & 5) that will take you back to Centraal station and Dam Square etc, so getting around is no issue at all. The area is a busy vibrant place but can be a bit on the price side.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

This is not the place for you if you worry about extras, fresh paint jobs, artworks or posturepedic beds with cotton linen, but my partner and I were happy enough at Kooyk. We stayed for 3 nights. Got the train form the airport and a tram from the main station, then walked across the canal. Locals are willing to help if you get lost. Our room was outdated but large, with the window facing out to the canal and street corner. No noise and pretty to look out. We shared toilet/shower with ground floor occupants - no big deal. Around the corner is a square with bars and local eateries at good prices. There's also arthouse cinemas, concert halls and close to art galleries. If you've got walking shoes on though , most parts of the city are easily accessable on foot from the hotel. My partner and I had a fabulous time exploring the city, getting lost and stopping at out-of-the-way cafes for apple pie and coffees. Also loved the breakfast spread each day at Kooyk!! Meat cuts, eggs, a variety of jams and breads/rolls, juice, cereal etc. YUMMY!! As we were there in winter, I was worried I may not be warm enough. Not a problem there either. I would recommend this spot to budget conscious, not too fussy people who want to put the luggage down, eat a good brekkie and get out and see the city.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Seemed typical and cheap, very laid back and pleasant staff no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.