We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kooyk is OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Kooyk is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Breakfast good but too late for business guests - starting only at 8:30. Orange juice is qualified with water! Bulbs too dim in rooms.Terrible accent with Asian servants, their English unintelligible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    106
    99
    38
    68
See reviews for
42
143
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This B & B had very nice breakfasts and helpful staff. We were up two flights of very steep steps and they carried our luggage up. The room was very clean but tiny...only one suitcase could be laid on the floor at a time!
The people, owner operated, made this a pleasant stay. Very handy to museums, cafes, banks, tram or bus, and on scenic canal.

Room Tip: You could avoid stairs by paying more to be on ground floor...if only we knew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

+ great location - very close to Leidsplein and Vondelpark, nearby trams to all other parts of Amsterdam
+ very good prices - for a double bed room (booked 3 month in advance) we paid 26 E per night per person! Of course our room did not have balcony but the window faced other room's window)
+ helpful staff
+ clean bathroom and shower, fresh towels every day
+ free wifi (not always working, but generally ok)
- very steep stairs (can be a difficult to climb for people who have problem with walking)
- very claustrophobic toilet and rooms (not many place for other things than bed)
- 1 toiled and 2 shower per 5 rooms
- very loud in the morning so can be problem for people who would like to sleep-in

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I booked this budget hotel as I wanted 'authentic' at a good price. Nice location on one of the smaller canals. It was what I expected - a bit tired, but clean and comfortable. The room was basic with a small portable tv and a washbasin. The excellent shower and the toilt were just outside in the hallway. The continental breakfast was lovely. I found most of the staff pleasant and helpful. Couldn't get WiFi to work, although I managed to use site of the theatre nearby!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked at Kooyk due to the competitive price, location and the fact breakfast was included. It was not an entirely faultless stay, but I am completely happy to overlook those nuances and would certainly stay again instead of playing pot luck and staying somewhere else in Amsterdam!

We booked a canal view room - when we arrived, we were told that on arrival we would have to change rooms after 1 night (3 night stay) - although slightly inconvenient, we were not majorly bothered by this as we had been given a discount to compensate and we were not intending on spending hours upon hours in the hotel - we wanted to see the city! As I say, the location is absolutely spot on (not right in the thick of tourist areas, but not too far away), excellent transport links and we had a lovely view of the canal as requested (in both rooms). Yes, there is some noise from passing pedestrians, cyclists etc. but this is a central city hotel, in a listed building - it is to be expected!

The refurbished rooms were perfectly clean and tidy, there was a fridge, a walk in shower which was fine, small but functional basin, wardrobe, TV with many channels, and clean towels provided. Honestly, for the money paid I fail to see how people can complain. The fact you have your own bathroom (if you pay for it), and breakfast included, the rate paid is very competitive compared to other guesthouses/B&Bs/hotels in the city. Bed was new & comfortable, and we did get a good night's sleep each night. You can occasionally hear other guests using the communal toilet/showers but again - a minor niggle in my eyes.

Breakfast was fine and a good start to the day - yes, the breakfast room was full on a couple of occasions as the hotel was fully occupied, but I guess the best approach here is to come down nice and early! Again - a minor inconvenience but not enough of a problem for me to spout reams and reams of prose on here about! Breakfast consisted of breads (and yummy chocolate spread!), cheese, eggs, meat, fruit salad, tea and coffee and also orange juice. Small bowls/cups to avoid waste but not a problem in my eyes. I think people have ideas of grandure, expecting 5* service at a guesthouse price.

Kooyk ticked all the boxes for me - great location, functional, clean, fine breakfast, great price. If you want to spend all your time in a hotel, pay out for a five star room. If you want affordability and a great base and place to put your head down for the night, stay here.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.