We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, Amsterdam 1017 PM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Keep going back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I suppose depending on where you come from will depend on your expectations which is why i have a few problems with some of these negative reviews about the Kooyk Hotel.
Firstly, chaps and chapesses this hotel is a typical listed building in Amsterdam. Limited Space people, thus more floors hence steep stairs, smaller bathrooms etc.
Secondly, this is not an expensive hotel near the centre of town, just diwn from a theatre in fact. What do you expect for your money?
These 2 points having been said my sister and I took my mother here for a significant birthday in may of this year and while yes it was undergoing major refurbishment none of us had a problem.
The room was clean and the beds comfortable, we had our own key so we could come and go as we pleased, the staff both family and hired were helpful, friendly without being obsequious. They all got on well which showed in their professionalism and pride in their Hotel. The food (continental buffet style) was fresh, tasty and frequently replenished. I should mention; as i cannot function in the morning without it, the coffee was hot, just strong enough and if required also replenished. What more could you ask?
To finish i would not take my mother on a surprise holiday to a rundown, filthy hole no matter how cheap it was as i value my continued existence to much. By the way my mother, sister and i enjoyed ourselves so much we are going back there whether the refurbishments are finished or not.
Mhairi Morison.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    68
    65
    29
    60
See reviews for
25
97
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel kooyk is a basic hotel located in Amsterdam city centre. The staff were great and granted all of our requests. The room was lovely and clean. We found that we were never more than 15mins away from the tourist attraction from our hotel so we were very happy an would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for a long weekend stay. Our room was clean but very basic, nothing like the one we were led to believe we were getting on the internet. The toilet down the hall leaked water all over the floor and I had to constantly place paper towels on the floor to stop getting my slippers soaking wet. The toilet was like a broom cupboard as was the shower! The carpets and decor were old and tatty but the overall cleanliness was ok. The staff were rude but I put this down to a lack of correct English translation as I found rather too many Dutch people on the rude side!!!! One example was on the day we were leaving we hung around in the reception a little longer than the guy wanted us to and was told we had to leave due to it not being a waiting room, in the next breath he said if we come back again to come and stay again. Urrrrrrrm no thanks as you were so kind and friendly just now I dont think I will! Breakfast was a constant ask for items to be replenished and it was overall a very average place indeed. I wont stay again

Room Tip: If you want no frills, lack of facilities and no smiles head here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
dear madam,
thank you for your review.
I would like to point out that you did book a budget room, with shared facilites including breakfast.
Lets get a few points straight.
Your room was perfectly clean supplied with clean linnen and towels.
You did not book a superior room or one of our new ensuite rooms ground floor.
The room has shared facities your price range was 27,50-32,50 pp
We have a listed builiding, the shower is small, I do admit, but it has to do with it being a listed building we are not allowed to change the format of the shower room.
You had a very good price202,58 euro for four persons which is approx 25, euro per person including breakfast and city tax no hidden extras.
The toilet.
I am sure you noticed the notice outside the toilet, please come down to the reception if there is a problem with the toilet. This problem is caused by peple not being able to use a toilet properly and waiting for the toilet to flush, impatience which will of course cause flooding, which in your case did. I spend so much time cleaning up after people who do not know how to use a toilet properly.I apolgise for any inconvience caused and as i AM a much travelled person I would go to the hotel reception to ask for the toilet to be cleaned.
You did not.
Breakfast, it is a full buffet, with all foods provided as much as you wished.
I was told you came late for breakast and of course at 9 45 the staff did their best to help you.
I take exception to the fact you said our staff was rude, we are all very helpful and try to facilitate as much as possible.
i WILL speak to budget places.com as we have specifically sold this room as a budget room how dissapointing.
You got a bargin.
The room was painted may I add by a very nice english gentleman who has taken execption to your comment tatty....
Very insuliting indeed.
Thank you again.
kind regards
MF Moonen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsekade 82, Amsterdam 1017 PM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.