We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in city centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in city centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel kooyk is a basic hotel located in Amsterdam city centre. The staff were great and granted all of our requests. The room was lovely and clean. We found that we were never more than 15mins away from the tourist attraction from our hotel so we were very happy an would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    84
    82
    35
    63
See reviews for
33
115
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for a long weekend stay. Our room was clean but very basic, nothing like the one we were led to believe we were getting on the internet. The toilet down the hall leaked water all over the floor and I had to constantly place paper towels on the floor to stop getting my slippers soaking wet. The toilet was like a broom cupboard as was the shower! The carpets and decor were old and tatty but the overall cleanliness was ok. The staff were rude but I put this down to a lack of correct English translation as I found rather too many Dutch people on the rude side!!!! One example was on the day we were leaving we hung around in the reception a little longer than the guy wanted us to and was told we had to leave due to it not being a waiting room, in the next breath he said if we come back again to come and stay again. Urrrrrrrm no thanks as you were so kind and friendly just now I dont think I will! Breakfast was a constant ask for items to be replenished and it was overall a very average place indeed. I wont stay again

Room Tip: If you want no frills, lack of facilities and no smiles head here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
dear madam,
thank you for your review.
I would like to point out that you did book a budget room, with shared facilites including breakfast.
Lets get a few points straight.
Your room was perfectly clean supplied with clean linnen and towels.
You did not book a superior room or one of our new ensuite rooms ground floor.
The room has shared facities your price range was 27,50-32,50 pp
We have a listed builiding, the shower is small, I do admit, but it has to do with it being a listed building we are not allowed to change the format of the shower room.
You had a very good price202,58 euro for four persons which is approx 25, euro per person including breakfast and city tax no hidden extras.
The toilet.
I am sure you noticed the notice outside the toilet, please come down to the reception if there is a problem with the toilet. This problem is caused by peple not being able to use a toilet properly and waiting for the toilet to flush, impatience which will of course cause flooding, which in your case did. I spend so much time cleaning up after people who do not know how to use a toilet properly.I apolgise for any inconvience caused and as i AM a much travelled person I would go to the hotel reception to ask for the toilet to be cleaned.
You did not.
Breakfast, it is a full buffet, with all foods provided as much as you wished.
I was told you came late for breakast and of course at 9 45 the staff did their best to help you.
I take exception to the fact you said our staff was rude, we are all very helpful and try to facilitate as much as possible.
i WILL speak to budget places.com as we have specifically sold this room as a budget room how dissapointing.
You got a bargin.
The room was painted may I add by a very nice english gentleman who has taken execption to your comment tatty....
Very insuliting indeed.
Thank you again.
kind regards
MF Moonen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a nice little B&B about a 5 minute canal walk from Leidesplein Tram stop. Trams from Leidesplein to Dam Square, Anne Frank House and Central Station run about every 3 minutes. There are 3 lines doing this route. 1,2 and 5. A day ticket costs 7.5 Euros, 2 days 12 Euros and 3 days 16.5 Euros.

On the hotel itself, I had a very good stay. I stayed in room 24, which was a single. You get a wash basin, a tv a nice chair, a nice bed. No tea/coffee facilities, free wifi which worked well. A nice breakfast, including scrambled eggs, toast, various cold meats and cheese/fruit. No bacon/sausages. The owners seemed very nice and obviously care about their place. I found it very clean, and between 3 people on the top floor we shared one toilet and two showers, which all worked very well and were very clean. The stairs are fairly narrow, but not too bad.

If you want a cheap B&B in an amazing location with all the basics covered, then this is the place for you. If you want a luxury hotel then this is not your place. I have stayed at the Millennium Times Square in New York and the Ritz in London, and this is obviously not that so don't expect that, but for what it is trying to be it is very good at. Some of these reviews annoy me, because its like they expect the Ritz!

This is a clean hotel, in excellent location, with a tv(20 European channels including eng lang BBC1 BBC2, National Geographic, MTV, Nickleodeon and a movie channel), free wifi, a nice comfy bed, a chair, a wash basin and breakfast included. At this price range it was exactly what I wanted.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For people who want advice on the city itself please read the following, I know it would've helped me.

Trams are definitely the best way to travel in terms of cost and efficiency. You need a GVB multi-day tram ticket you get from Centraal next to the main ticket office. Cycling costs about 8 euros for 3 hours and then 12 euros for 24 hours rising up after that. I found cycling a great way to enjoy Amsterdam but it was a little tricky navigating around the roads with pedestrians and cars everywhere. I would not recommend hiring bikes with little kids unless you stick to vondelpark or outside Dam Square. I also tried Canal bike which was a little pedal boat and costs 8 Euros for 1 hour, it was great fun, definitely recommend, a unique way of seeing the city, but be careful of the big boats!

The location here is perfect, Leidesplein is easily the best square to stay near, it has a nice selection of bars, restaurants, hotels and shops and is right next to vondelpark, a nice tranquil retreat from the hectic busy city. I have stayed in Dam square before and found it pretty hectic and claustrophobic and the area a little shabby. This is a nice classy area situated between the museums, vondelpark and the hectic city.

The two things you have to do are the Van Gogh Museum and the Anne Frank House. These are two things unique to Amsterdam and are pretty mind blowing in their own way. All the other attractions, I have probably seen better versions of elsewhere.

The cost of a train from Schiphol to Centraal is 4.4 euros and they run every 15 minutes. Also be careful with the cost of alcohol, a single Bacardi and coke at Schiphol airport cost 9 euros.

Hope this helps anyone who reads this.

Room Tip: Room 24 is a single room on the 3rd floor with a nice big window you can open, and you have 2 shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.