We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Me and my friends have booked a room in this hotel cause it looked pretty decent on the photographs. When we arrived our jaws have dropped to the floor, room was dirty, old and absolutely disgusting. Uncomfortable mattresses, instead of a garden view we got...well...no view at all. Blonde lady who was one of the owners was so extremely rude I could not believe this was happening, we left the hotel after one night and got our money back after few days. We switched to Sphinx hotel instead it was so much better than horrible Kooyk (that must be dutch for nightmare) I would never recommend it to anyone, absolute scam, you won't get what you pay for or what is advertised

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    120
    104
    42
    71
See reviews for
48
158
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Unbeatable location, no frills hotel, basic rooms, reasonable breakfast. Not ideal for a young couple expecting some quality loving, walls are very thin and the beds are squeaky, the whole hotel would overhear conversation and anything else.
The staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly. Supermarkets are within minutes walk and main shopping street with bars and restaurants is round the corner.
Would definitely stay again as the location is so good!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night at Hotel Kooyk. Overall hotel is ok. Staff are friendly, location is very good, beside canal and walking distance to everything. I only saw our room which was clean with immaculate bathroom, but sadly we had no view at all. The breakfast we thought was great! Nearby I would recommend a Dutch restaurant called 'Hap Hmm' which was amazing value and delicious food! ( the stewed beef was amazing)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

More of a B & B type than a true hotel and so probably more expensive than it should be but that said the owner is very friendly and the location is excellent, being just a nice 15-20 minute evening walk along the canals away from the city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 9am fully aware we couldn't check-in. All we wanted to do was drop off our luggage which we emailed the hotel beforehand about. The lady who I assume is the boss did not want to listen to us, cut us off mid sentence, and kept saying we couldn't check-in. We were given no other choice but to leave and deposit our luggage at the train station, which cost us extra money and was a real hassle.

We returned at the proper check-in time & the lady's attitude seem to have improved. She was pretty friendly so we brushed off the incident to a bad morning.

We booked a twin room with garden view but I wouldn't really classify it as a garden. It was messy with a view of bins and a shed with exposed mattresses. I can only hope they were old mattresses waiting for disposal.

There's no fan or air-con in the room so you have to sleep with the windows open. The only problem being the balcony outside can be accessed by anyone in the building. So we slept with the windows closed which was stuffy. The "private" bathroom in the hallway was acceptable and spacious but the door and cabinet were waterlogged due to the bathroom's design. The whole bathroom is wet after your shower so you'll need to dress/undress in your room.

PROS:
- Decent room size
- Cleanliness
- Location. 2 mins walk to tram/bus stops & shopping area.

CONS:
- Dirty garden view
- No fan or air-con. Balcony accessible by anyone. Have to sleep with windows closed.
- Anyone can use the "private" bathroom as it can't be locked from outside.
- Whole bathroom is wet after a shower. You'll need to dress/undress in your room & walk around in a towel.

Room Tip: - Book a room with ensuite. "Private" bathroom in the hallway isn't exactly private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we arrived we were under the impression we had our own bathroom - unfortunately it was a shared bathroom and toilet. the toilet was located in a tiny space behind a door with a far amount of loo paper on the floor - you really couldn't move in it. As for the shower, when you opened a door in the hall the shower curtain was right in your face. To have a shower you had to get undressed and dressed in the shower cubicle and hang your clothes on a small hook with your towel and hope they wouldn't get wet!! The rooms were small and very drab and worn really turned up disgusting carpet. We were kept awake all night by the people in the next room smashing their doors closed and stomping around the room. A most unpleasant stay - Never again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#218 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#136 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#251 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#189 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#229 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.