We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no frills hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, no frills hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Unbeatable location, no frills hotel, basic rooms, reasonable breakfast. Not ideal for a young couple expecting some quality loving, walls are very thin and the beds are squeaky, the whole hotel would overhear conversation and anything else.
The staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly. Supermarkets are within minutes walk and main shopping street with bars and restaurants is round the corner.
Would definitely stay again as the location is so good!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    92
    92
    36
    66
See reviews for
38
126
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night at Hotel Kooyk. Overall hotel is ok. Staff are friendly, location is very good, beside canal and walking distance to everything. I only saw our room which was clean with immaculate bathroom, but sadly we had no view at all. The breakfast we thought was great! Nearby I would recommend a Dutch restaurant called 'Hap Hmm' which was amazing value and delicious food! ( the stewed beef was amazing)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

More of a B & B type than a true hotel and so probably more expensive than it should be but that said the owner is very friendly and the location is excellent, being just a nice 15-20 minute evening walk along the canals away from the city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 9am fully aware we couldn't check-in. All we wanted to do was drop off our luggage which we emailed the hotel beforehand about. The lady who I assume is the boss did not want to listen to us, cut us off mid sentence, and kept saying we couldn't check-in. We were given no other choice but to leave and deposit our luggage at the train station, which cost us extra money and was a real hassle.

We returned at the proper check-in time & the lady's attitude seem to have improved. She was pretty friendly so we brushed off the incident to a bad morning.

We booked a twin room with garden view but I wouldn't really classify it as a garden. It was messy with a view of bins and a shed with exposed mattresses. I can only hope they were old mattresses waiting for disposal.

There's no fan or air-con in the room so you have to sleep with the windows open. The only problem being the balcony outside can be accessed by anyone in the building. So we slept with the windows closed which was stuffy. The "private" bathroom in the hallway was acceptable and spacious but the door and cabinet were waterlogged due to the bathroom's design. The whole bathroom is wet after your shower so you'll need to dress/undress in your room.

PROS:
- Decent room size
- Cleanliness
- Location. 2 mins walk to tram/bus stops & shopping area.

CONS:
- Dirty garden view
- No fan or air-con. Balcony accessible by anyone. Have to sleep with windows closed.
- Anyone can use the "private" bathroom as it can't be locked from outside.
- Whole bathroom is wet after a shower. You'll need to dress/undress in your room & walk around in a towel.

Room Tip: - Book a room with ensuite. "Private" bathroom in the hallway isn't exactly private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we arrived we were under the impression we had our own bathroom - unfortunately it was a shared bathroom and toilet. the toilet was located in a tiny space behind a door with a far amount of loo paper on the floor - you really couldn't move in it. As for the shower, when you opened a door in the hall the shower curtain was right in your face. To have a shower you had to get undressed and dressed in the shower cubicle and hang your clothes on a small hook with your towel and hope they wouldn't get wet!! The rooms were small and very drab and worn really turned up disgusting carpet. We were kept awake all night by the people in the next room smashing their doors closed and stomping around the room. A most unpleasant stay - Never again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel is located within the city center and can easily be reached by foot from Centraal Station. A direct bus to Shiphol is located at 150 meters from the hotel. Close to several companies that do canal tours. Also close to the RijksMuseum as well as a Park.
The hotel is in an old building which makes it interesting, and the stairs are so steep, a real experience. Since this is not something that can or should be changed in order to keep the character of the house, I'm not at all complaining about it but you should be warned that the stairs are very steep. And there is no elevator.
What bothered me was the lack of hygiene, the poor quality of the room, old non-matching towels, tine bathroom where you have to sit sideways as you won't fit in, loose electrical sockets, window that couldn't close, generally run down. There doesn't seem to be pride of ownership or a handyman around as with some effort all these issues could easily be addressed.
We did think that breakfast was good and there were sufficient options.
There is internet in the hotel - however, we were not made aware of it so didn't use it.

In all, good location but very little quality with regards to the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.