We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“it was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

supersmall rooms! double bed was made of two different single beds, it was impossible to sleep together in it! tv didn't work, there was no hairdryer in the room(in description there was one), breakfast room is too small for all the guests, that is why there is a good chance that you will need to wait in the corridor for a free spot at one of the tables.
also there was no note that the room i booked is without a batroom and wc.

but althrough it was decent, good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Thank you to Mary and her staff for a pleasant stay ....Mary was very helpful on arrival dropping off our bags made life so much easier for me for the day travelling with two young children.Rooms comfortable,beds cosy,breakfast very good,all staff members helpful with directions ,looking places up on their phone for me.Christian was very helpful lending me a travel plug as I forgot to bring mine thank you so so much .Will be back as soon as can get a few more euros together as my children loved their trip to Amsterdam.Thank you .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose the Hotel Kooyk because of the price and location. The hotel is superbly placed for the attractions, right by the Leindseplein and close to the Museumplein. It's on the bus route 197 from Schiphol, and very close to the tram stop for Dam Square. It is also right next to a canal. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Recommended for those on a budget (although next time we will try and get an en suite room).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the Kooyk at the beginning of July being honest I did not expect much given how cheap the rooms were but I was more than pleasantly surprised by my stay. The staff were extremely helpful and obliged with any requests we put to them without complaint. We arrived early in the morning and after dropping our bags off we were offered a coffee which was really appreciated as we had travelled through the night and the café's in the city had yet to open.

The room was spotlessly clean and beds comfortable with enough room to move around without getting in each others way. Although we did not have an en suite room the shower room/toilet was only a short walk down the hall and did not pose any real problems. The shower itself was powerful and very refreshing especially after a day of wondering around the city.

Breakfast was small but was enough to satisfy most tastes with a good range of meats and cheeses and more than enough to set you up for the day.

In terms of location it is situated a five minute walk from the Leidseplein and main shopping areas and given the reasonable cost of the rooms I think I would of struggled to find a better hotel that met our locational need and price bracket we will certainly stay at this hotel again if we have another trip to Amsterdam.

My thanks to Mary & Pierre for a memorable stay at their hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Kooyk is a small family run hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.
The Hotel has 1 star but to be honest it deserves more. We stayed here on a friends stag do and the two rooms were very spacious, clean and light. The family rooms (4 and 5 beds) had a shower but the toilet was down the hall.
Everyone was very friendly and for those of us that made breakfast enjoyed it. Overall for a group of people it was perfect and our room even overlooked the canal.
As far as location it's right near the shopping area and square, where you can have dinner and drinks. The red light district is about 25-30 minute walk though and the roads are a little tricky to navigate as they all look the same.
For the price an absolute gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesashleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is our third time with the family at their hotel the refurbishments meant on suite shower this year. Such a lovely big room that was able to accommodate the five of us. Breakfast was super and set us up for the day. .The rooms were clean and anything we needed we only had to ask. The value was excellent which meant we could afford an extra night. A big thank you to the Moonen family they are lovely and made our family so welcome and looked after us, we had only just lost our Dad and this trip was made easier by their friendliness. we will all be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
dear madam,
thank you again for a great review. I am so glad you enjoyed this new family room.
I hope to see you all back again , and we are very very sorry for your loss,
with kind regards
MARY Moonen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#194 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#230 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#270 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#265 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#249 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#164 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing